HEAVY PETTIN’ – The Big Bang +2 [Cherry Red Remastered + Unreleased]

BAD HABIT - Autonomy [Japanese Edition] (2021) full

All 3 HEAVY PETTIN’ Eighties albums have been reissued, remastered and with bonus tracks on Burnt Out Wreckords via Cherry Red Records. We already featured Heavy Pettin’ 2 first, now it’s time for their third and last 80s LP “The Big Bang”, including previously unreleased tracks as bonus.
Originally appeared in 1989, “The Big Bang +2 [Cherry Red Remastered + Unreleased]” sees the band fully embracing the AOR sound production of that magic year, hugely layered, plenty of keyboards and sing-along choruses.

“The Big Bang”, the third album from Heavy Pettin’ was released in 1989 and saw them changing their style from the early Def Leppard orientated hard rock into the hook-ladden late ’80s AOR style plenty of keyboards and the huge vocals from singer Hamie, which sounded not that far away from SHY’s Tony Mills.
No surprise that with this album they were called as the European answer to Journey – check tracks like “Lonely People”, “Looking For Love” or “Madonna On The Radio !” and imagine that one of the mighty Steve’s (PERRY / AUGERI) handles the vocal duties.

While fans of Heavy Pettin’s early work were surprised by this record and miss the band’s raw attack, on the other hand AOR aficionados will love “The Big Bang”. It’s pure ’80s.
The original cover artwork was not approved by the band, and their choice of image has since been lost, so drummer Gary Moat has overseen the creation of this new artwork.
Very good remaster, and the collectible bonus tracks are a plus.
HIGHLY Recommended

You’ve seen it first at 0dayrox


01 – Born To Burn
02 – Romeo
03 – Lonely People
04 – This Is America
05 – Looking For Love
06 – Madonna On The Radio
07 – Don’t Call It Love
08 – Heaven Sent
09 – Two Hearts
10 – City Girl [rare outtake]
11 – Rock You Endlessly [previously unreleased]

Steve “Hamie” Hayman – Vocals
Gordon Bonnar – Guitars
Punky Mendoza – Guitars
Brian Waugh – Bass, Keys
Gary Moat – Drums



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.