HEAVY PETTIN’ – Rock Ain’t Dead [Cherry Red Digitally Remastered +1]

HEAVY PETTIN' - Rock Ain’t Dead [Cherry Red Digitally Remastered +1] full

British cult rockers HEAVY PETTIN’ second album ‘Rock Ain’t Dead‘ has just been remastered and reissued including a bonus track, on Burnt Out Wreckords via Cherry Red Records.

Hard rocking Scottish band Heavy Pettin’ (named after UFO’s 1976 studio album), was formed in Glasgow in 1981 when guitarist Gordon Bonnar, drummer Gary Moat, bassist Brian Waugh, vocalist Steve ‘Hamie’ Hayman and lead guitarist Punky Mendoza joined forces to give the biggest and best rock bands at the time a serious run for their money.

Heavy Pettin gigged extensively before releasing their debut single, 1982’s ‘Roll the Dice’ on Neat Records. This was good enough to catch the eye of Polydor Records who soon extended a major-label deal to the band then, with Queen guitarist Brian May on board as co-producer along with Reinhold Mack, the group recorded their 1983 debut LP, the classic ‘Lettin Loose’.

Opening slots supporting the likes of Kiss, Ozzy and Whitesnake followed, leading to the release of the band’s 2nd studio release, 1985’s ‘Rock Ain’t Dead’.
With a much more polished production according to the mid-Eighties, the guys also improved songwriting for this second effort.
This is most likely because Heavy Pettin’ really began picking up on the Airplay-Oriented rock trend that groups like Journey and Foreigner had brought to massive acclaim.

“Rock Ain’t Dead” holds a fair amount of powerful melodic rockers in “Heart Attack” and “China Boy”, the power ballads “Lost in Love” and “Dream time”, and the super dramatic AORish midtempo “Sole Survivor” – with an unforgettable chorus.

A really welcomed digitally remastered reissue including a bonus track, “Rock Ain’t Dead” is an album that still needs to be discovered by many Melodic Hard Rock fans, and this new version is the one to pick up.
HIGHLY Recommended


01 – Rock Ain’t Dead
02 – Sole Survivor
03 – China Boy
04 – Lost In Love
05 – Northwinds
06 – Angel
07 – Heart Attack
08 – Dream Time
09 – Walkin With Angels
10 – Throw A Party
11 – Crazy

Bass – Brian Waugh
Drums – Gary Moat
Guitar – Gordon Bonnar, Punky Mendoza
Lead Vocals – Steve Hayman



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.