ROBBY VALENTINE – The Magic Infinity +2 [Japan HR-HM 1000 Vol.5 series] (2022) HQ

ROBBY VALENTINE - The Magic Infinity +2 [Japan HR-HM 1000 Vol.5 series] (2022) HQ full

Universal Music Japan did it again, a new campaign of their ‘HR/HM 1000‘ series – the Limited Release reissue of long time out of print albums from their Hard Rock / Heavy Metal catalog at the price of 1000 Yen = about 9 USD.
Now it’s time for the second 2022 batch, ”HR-HM 1000 Vol.5”. And as part of these there’s ROBBY VALENTINE‘s “The Magic Infinity” including 2 bonus tracks.
It was the year of 1993 when Robby Valentine, the multi talented Dutch musician released his sophomore CD that should have become one of the top AOR / melodic rock albums of the 90s (not only in Japan).
This album has it all. There isn’t single filler; ranging from fast rockers to slow ballads, all the songs carry presence of melody and richness of sound.

“The Magic Infinity” is melodic, pompous, emotional, but it also has a unique equilibristic approach, which is often surprising and constantly entertaining – something like Queen on steroids.
There is a wide dynamic in the music and this is often used to catch the listener off guard when extra impact is needed. It works wonderfully. ‘Angel of my Heart’ is an example of this. Here the acoustic guitar enters the sound with a certain “wow-effect”. The dual lead vocals make the song soar even more.

There is a pomp edge to the music. An example is in ‘Miss You Eternally’ at 3:52, where the orchestration lifts the song to new heights and keeps it from becoming stale.
‘No Turning Back’ is an obvious choice to showcase that poppy symphonic edge. The song has a definite Queen vibe, especially in its middle to last section, and comes off as a successful, musically virtuous example of what the band is capable of.
The way the song rises to its chorus is brilliant, and I would have loved if the chorus could make that feeling explode, but instead the song sort of peaks right before the chorus and then the chorus starts over and peaks again at the end.

While his songwriting skills are impressive, Robby Valentine’s voice is absolutely amazing. He brings something deeply emotional to the table, which sets off sparks against the soft musical backdrop. He goes all out and hits some amazing high notes when needed and brings the lyrics to life in a convincing way without becoming sentimental. A barrage of harmonies add to the overall impression.
A special nod goes to the guitar work on the album. It’s excellent, with solos that are melodic, sharp and tight.

There are several ballads on the album. Each of these work because there is the feeling that everything sung or played, is delivered with utmost sincerity, feeling and empathy. There are so many moments where I have to just sit back and smile while enjoying that, yes. This is a musician who is simply overflowing with joy for what he is doing.
‘Don’t Make Me Wait Forever’ is the icing on a sweetly layered cake of ballads. The song is so infectious, has a wonderful melody and an ultra-smooth execution. Robby’s opening lines send shivers down the spine. The build-up to the first chorus is a showcase of how Robby uses his voice to create an astonishing atmosphere, where each word sung can be felt deep inside. It is a remarkable feat that this song works as well as it does.

From here on ‘Wild Child’ continues down a more rocking path, where you will find vocal harmonies and a mesmerizing chorus coming at you from any direction. ‘I Need Your Love’ speeds things up further. ‘Mega-man’ is an odd mix of rock, bagpipes and a children’s choir. Somehow it works in a brilliant and fun way.

This Japanese edition has two bonus tracks. ‘A World of You And Me’ is a beautiful ballad where voice and acoustic guitar complete each other.
‘Valentine’s Overture Part II (A Martian on Earth)’ was originally supposed to end the album and Part I was supposed to open it, but Part II ended up as a bonus track on the Japanese edition instead. It’s a superb 12 minute epic and I can only imagine how the album would have felt if the original idea had been carried out.

The production is nothing short of fantastic. A clear full-bodied sound that is bombastic, dynamic and demands to be heard as loud as possible.
If you have a soft spot for pompy AOR / Melodic Rock laced with keyboards, emotion and delicately virtuous vocals then this is an essential purchase. One thing is certain: This is a little gem.


H R / H M 1000 SERIES

01 – The Magic Infinity
02 – Miss You Eternally
03 – Only Your Love
04 – Angel Of My Heart
05 – No Turning Back
06 – The Reconciliation
07 – Don’t Make Me Wait Forever
08 – Wild Child
09 – I Need Your Love
10 – Help Me Spell My Name
11 – Mega-Man
12 – Raise Your Hands
13 – A World Of You And Me (bonus track)
14 – Valentine’s Overture Part 2 (bonus track)

Robby Valentine – vocals, keyboards, drums
Rob Winter – guitars
Arthur Polini – bass
Hans Eijkenaar – drums



You may also like...

1 Response

  1. melodified says:

    The Magic Infinity is such a good song!!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.