PETRA – Captured In Time & Space [Collectors Edition digitally remastered] (2022) *HQ Exclusive*

PETRA - Captured In Time & Space [Collectors Edition digitally remastered] (2022) *HQ Exclusive* full

PETRA left an indelible mark on rock fans all over the world throughout the 80s. Founder Bob Hartman, Greg X. Volz and the band dropped 6 elite albums from 1979-1986 which not only defined the Christian music from era but also secular mainstream metal-related acts. In the mid-Eighties Petra recorded their first live album “Captured In Time & Space“, which also worked as some kind of Greatest Hits as the band included their best cuts into the set.
Usually live albums are not favorites among fans, but on “Captured In Time & Space” Petra were at the top of their game with stupendous musicianship, fully melodic into a bombastic AOR sound & style, and the album is considered an ’80s classic.
Now “Captured In Time & Space” has been reissued in its full form, and it’s another proof that a live album really can be improved with modern remastering. The sound quality is amazing, with some song versions are even better than the original studio takes.

Finding a complete version of Petra’s “Captured In Time & Space” can be a tricky task. The version released on vinyl was a double record set. When the CD version was originally released, osme tracks were cut. When the band released the concert on DVD it was sourced from the original VHS cassette tape since the video masters were lost, and the song “Computer Brains,” did not appear. Also, the concept video for “Beat the System,” that appeared on the original VHS was cut. ‘Speak to the Sky’ (Track 9) was also not on the VHS or DVD but was on the original cassette and vinyl and is on this remastered CD.

The concert was sourced from three shows: Civic Auditorium, Knoxville, Tennessee on November 21, 1985; Memorial Auditorium, Greenville, South Carolina on November 22, 1985; and Township Auditorium, Columbia, South Carolina on November 23, 1985.
As said, many music fans doesn’t like live albums, unless of course you were privileged enough to be in the crowd (then you tell everyone you know, “I was at that show”). However this album for so many of us left an impression not much different from the studio recordings. Everything about it is great.

It was recorded with the best equipment available and heavily post-processed to obtain that mid-80s glossy sound, which in my book, is awesome. And Petra performs all their top hits, a 3-song Rock Medley as well as a Mellow Medley and a guitar, Drum and Keyboard solo, literally everything you want from a great live performance and none of the stuff you don’t want.

Petra’s “Captured In Time & Space”, which was originally released in 1986, would be the last for Greg X. Volz and the end of an era as John Schlitt would join Petra as new lead vocalist latter that same year.
This is pure first half of the Eighties AOR / hard rock stuff plenty of harmonies, keyboards / synths, that huge drums… you get the picture. Ad this 2022 remastered reissue sound million bucks.
Highly Recommended

You’ve seen it first at 0dayrox


01 – Captured In Time And Space [Intro]
02 – Beat The System
03 – Captured In Time And Space (Conversation – 1)
04 – Computer Brains
05 – Clean
06 – Captured In Time And Space (Conversation – 2)
07 – Grave Robber
08 – Captured In Time And Space (Conversation – 3)
09 – Speak To The Sky
10 – Captured In Time And Space (Conversation – 4)
11 – Hollow Eyes
12 – Stand Up (Rock Medley – Stand Up)
13 – Not By Sight (Rock Medley – Not By Sight)
14 – Judas’ Kiss (Rock Medley – Judas Kiss)
15 – Coloring Song, The (Mellow Medley – Coloring Song)
16 – The Road To Zion (Mellow Medley – Road To Zion)
17 – More Power To Ya (Mellow Medley – More Power To Ya)
18 – John’s Solo
19 – John’s Solo (John’s Solo)
20 – John’s Solo (John’s Solo – The Race)
21 – Bob’s Solo
22 – Louie’s Solo
23 – God Gave Rock And Roll
24 – Let Everything That Hath Breath (Medley: Let Everything)
25 – Without Him We Can Do Not (Medley: Without Him We)
26 – Praise Ye The Lord (Medley: Praise Ye The Lord)
27 – Hallelujah Chorus (Medley: Hallelujah Chorus)
28 – Doxology (See Visions)
29 – Godpleaser
30 – Captured In Time And Space (Invitation)
31 – It Is Finished

Vocals, Guitar – Greg X. Volz
Bass Guitar, Keyboards [Keyboard Bass] – Mark Kelly
Drums [Acoustic Drums], Electronic Drums – Louie Weaver
Guitars, Guitar Synthesizer [Synth Guitar] – Bob Hartman
Keyboards – John Lawry



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.