SNOWY WHITE (ex Thin Lizzy) – Driving On The 44 (2022)

SNOWY WHITE (ex Thin Lizzy) - Driving On The 44 (2022) full

Former Thin Lizzy guitarist SNOWY WHITE is releasing a new solo album entitled “Driving On The 44“. Developing a personalised style within the English blues-rock format, back in the 70s he toured the USA then returned to play alongside legendary Fleetwood Mac guitarist Peter Green, and subsequently recorded with him.
As part of the extended Pink Floyd family tree, he has played gamely, debuting as a touring guitarist for assorted tours. Following Pink Floyd’s US tour of The Wall, he returned to England and went straight into the studio to record his first Thin Lizzy album, Chinatown. He spent nearly three years touring as a member of the band, recording a further album in Renegade in 1982, before leaving to pursue his solo career.
When recording his many solo albums Snowy White has always gone his own way. ”Driving On The 44” is a further example of how he has matured and developed as musician over the years. The album includes ten great tracks of unique riffs, cool grooves and soulful blues. Snowy White is a man who has nothing to prove but who can still play hot and smoky guitar.

White’s new album features the man himself on vocals, guitars, bass and keyboards, the legendary Max Middleton on piano, Hammond, strings, Ferry Lagendijk on piano, Hammond & synthesisers, and Thomas White on drums and percussion.
“Driving On The 44” is a mature piece of work, as one would expect. The musicianship is superb, relaxed, and chilled, but of a high quality. Some of the tracks struggle a little in the lyrical department, ‘Down in the Dark’ being the obvious example with an attempt at human observation coming across as the musings of a grumpy old man. Yet his organic playing glosses over any shortcomings in the lyrics.

His back up band add really good textures to the music – Snowy really knows how to make a song a complete listening experience. The combination brings a level of quality that only experienced musicians can deliver.
Opening track ‘Freshwater’ brings a deliciously mellow style, the title track gets the foot tapping and there is an extended workout on ‘Blues 22’ which is well worth a listen. White adds a stellar solo on ‘Keep on Flying’.

He may not be the household name he was in 1983 with Thin Lizzy, but White and his signature Gibson Les Paul Goldtop continue to make beautiful music which will please thousands of discerning classic rock fans.
Highly Recommended


01 – Freshwater
02 – Longtime Blues
03 – Way Down in the Dark
04 – Driving on the 44
05 – Blues 22
06 – Ain’t No Secret Thing
07 – Keep on Flying
08 – One Man Girl
09 – Slinky Too
10 – Lady Luck (So Mean to Me)

Snowy White – vocals, guitars, bass, keyboards
Max Middleton – piano, Hammond, strings
Ferry Lagendijk – piano, Hammond, synthesisers
Thomas White – drums, percussion



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.