Swedish band GHOST has made available a compilation titled [MESSAGE FROM THE CLERGY] featuring some of their more mainstream songs, and this happened for a curious reason: Ghost’s 2019 single “Mary on a Cross” go viral as a result of TikTok.
The song, which was originally featured on the band’s single ‘Seven Inches of Satanic Panic’, was used in a TikTok that was published at the end of July about ‘Stranger Things’. The latest episodes of the show were released on Netflix in early July, and several songs have experienced a huge surge in popularity, including Metallica’s “Master of Puppets” and Kate Bush’s “Running Up That Hill (A Deal With God).”
Now, because of the popularity of the show, “Mary on a Cross” seems to be reaping the benefits too. It’s not only become a popular song to use in videos on the app, but has received an increase in streams on platforms such as Spotify and Apple Music as well. The song currently sits at No. 9 on Spotify’s Viral 50 Global chart.
The introduction of the song to such a large mass of people on the internet is likely to attract a new wave of Ghost fans, and to capitalize the effect, they put out [MESSAGE FROM THE CLERGY], featuring their most commercial songs, some re-mixed.

While the tracks featured here are among Ghost’s more accessible like ‘Spillways’ or ‘Call Me Little Sunshine’, into the tracklist there’s ‘Year Zero’, for sure not that ‘commercial’, with the intention give newcomers the other musical side of the band.
Faithful to Ghost’s occult / enigmatic style, [MESSAGE FROM THE CLERGY] has been retired from some services like Apple Music and and only few days since released it has become hard to find online, increasing the curiosity of the casual listener.

Hypnotic and darkly colorful melodic stuff, quintessentially Ghost.
Highly Recommended


01 – Mary On A Cross
02 – Spillways
03 – Call Me Little Sunshine
04 – Square Hammer
05 – Dance Macabre
06 – Year Zero
07 – Mary On A Cross (slowed + reverb version)

Tobias Forge – vocals, guitars, bass, keyboards, percussion
Papa Emeritus IV – vocals performance
A Group of Nameless Ghouls – guitars, bass, keytars, drums, percussion, keyboards, organ, synthesizers, backing and choir vocals


Try here

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.