THE PETAL FALLS – All These Years [CD version +2] (2021)

THE PETAL FALLS - All These Years [CD version +2] (2021) - full

UK’s, Kent band THE PETAL FALLS have an interesting backstory. Originally they were a five piece band that began in the mid 90s, fronted by songwriter Keith Leahy. Early on they signed a deal with an intermediate record label – The Petal Falls seemed destined for success. But that signing ultimately led to their undoing. After years of unfulfilled promises and tons of frustration, the band dissolved without the opportunity to release a single track.
Surprisingly, now The Petal Falls‘ entire catalogue will be available for release. Working with friend and producer, John King, Leahy was able to re-master the original recordings with additional instrumentation into four albums. The first one was released in 2020, this one titled “All These Years“, in 2021. And despite being composed and mostly recorded in the second half of the Nineties, this is pure ’80s inspired stuff.
The album is brilliant. The songs are vibrant and full of catchy hooks. The vocals are dynamic throughout and the musicianship is outstanding; powerful Lite AOR / rock&pop with tons of class, like mix of 2AM, Cutting Crew, Mr. Mister, Boulevard, etc.

Even though recorded in the 90s, the tracks still feel fresh and timeless. They ring with rock & roll vitality and have an anthemic charm.
Standouts include the hook laden “I Won’t Be There” and the rocking “Take Me Home”. The beautifully orchestrated title track “All These Years” is another extraordinary composition.

In the same vein as the previous The Petal Fals album ‘Workin’ All Night Workin’ All Day’, ‘All These Years’ is also driven by songcraft, as well as some of the biggest hooks and melodies heard from a non-Scandinavian melodic rock band in some time.
Album opener ‘Between My Brother And Me’ is a brooding, slow-burning gem that kicks off proceedings in fine style. Subtle keyboard arrangements run through the background of the track and lay down a dark, smokey atmosphere, matched by the “breaking-down-the-walls” lyrics.
Leahy’s crystal clear vocal enunciation is enhanced by stellar production and mastering considering these were lost tapes, so much so that it’s almost like Leahy is right there next to the listener.

Need a reference point for what to expect here? How about the lush Go West-meets-Toto-meets-Mike & The Mechanics tinges of ‘I Won’t Be There’? The simple guitar tones are crucial, the guitar solos midsong and towards the conclusion are fiery, and the drum work from Robin Tucker is exemplary (as it is throughout the entire album).
Or the Glass Tiger bounce-factor of ‘Take Me Home’? Or the impassioned title track where lyrical comparisons could be made with ‘New Jersey’-era Bon Jovi? Great guitar sound on the latter, the backing vocals are perfect and never overpowering; instead, working alongside Leahy’s vocals to bring a touch of class to the party.

In an alternate universe, ‘Second Sight’ is playing over one of many love scenes in the original ‘Miami Vice’ TV show, and ‘In The Shadow of The Clan’ and ‘Liberated’ have been licensed to numerous movie productions, meaning that Leahy is sitting back chuckling as he adds another wing to the mansion.
Sadly, that’s not the case, but we can but dream, yes?

Leahy wanted to preserve the original 90s recorded takes as much as possible, and at places you can hear little flaws because some of these original tapes were demos, but the overall sound production is really good. ”All These Years” is an exceptional piece of music that deserves high praise and major accolades.
If you love the ’80s, you need to check out this album.
HIGHLY Recommended


01 – Between My Brother And Me
02 – I Won’t Be There
03 – Second Sight
04 – Take Me Home
05 – All These Years
06 – A Lifetime Too Late
07 – Say A Prayer
08 – Blaze Of Glory
09 – In The Shadow Of The Clan
10 – Liberated

Keith Leahy – Lead vocals / Guitar / Keyboards
Robert Harpum – Guitar
Robin Tucker – Drums
Dave Richards – Guitar
Marius Ryndziewicz – Bass
Additional Personnel :
Duncan Lowe – Keyboards / Bass
Lee Tucker – Keyboards
Avril Davis – Backing Vocals
Tracy Tucker – Backing Vocals



You may also like...

1 Response

  1. bradipo says:

    Thanking you for introducing me to this band. There is an element of 80’s rock in there but I’m not complaining.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.