DANGER – ”Rescue 1989”

DANGER - Rescue 1989 full

There was a boiling pot in the Spanish Melodic Hard Rock scene during the second half of the ’80s. Great bands like Niagara, Manzano, Sangre Azul or Hiroshima offered quality albums on par with any major European band around. Among them, yet with a more underground profile, Marshall Monroe, a hard rock act from Madrid.
From the ashes Marshall Monroe born DANGER, including Jorge Fontecha (vocals), Jose A. Martin (ex- Sangre Azul) and Jose Antonio Casal on guitar, Luis Perona (bass) and Jose A. Pereira (drums), inspired by the melodic rock AOR sound and style from UK and Scandinavia.

In 1989 Danger recorded a 4-track demo which lead them to the Yamaha Band Explosion Contest, and Danger were the National Spanish winners. Therefore, they performed at the Tokyo, Japan worlwide finals highlighting a short-lived career, as after a several shows in Spain the group disbanded.

DANGER - Rescue 1989 (2014) inside

But a lot of material was composed during those golden years, and DANGER reunited again to finally give shape to these shelved songs. With the original line-up plus new young singer Amosquiro Amularo, Danger finally recorded their debut CD “Rescue 1989“.
What we have here is a wonderful slice of Melodic Hard Rock written 25 years ago freshly recorded but with the 1989 sound, more specifically keyboard-driven / sharp-riff fueled songs in the Scandinavian tradition akin Treat, Europe, Dalton and alike.

You can’t go wrong with AOR-tinted numbers like “Take My Love”, “Alone”, “Never Treat Me Like a Loser” “Danger (Let’s Get Away)” all adorned with synths flurry and catchy choruses.
Danger show their harder side with the melodic “Hunter”, “Since You Been Gone” (not a Rainbow cover) and the rockin’ “Rock & Roll” plenty of six-string bursts.

Fans of the golden ’80s you’re advised: Danger’s “Rescue 1989” is some kind of a lost Melodic Hard Rock / AOR album, and a really good one.
Highly Recommended


01 – Action
02 – Take My Love
03 – Since You Been Gone
04 – Alone
05 – Never Treat Me Like a Loser
06 – Hunter
07 – Danger (Let’s Get Away)
08 – Rock & Roll
09 – Without Someone to Help Me
10 – Hunter (Acoustic Version)
11 – Take My Love (Acoustic Version)

Amosquiro Amularo – Vocals
Jose A. Martin – Guitar
Jose A. Pereira – Drums
Carlos Abad – Keyboards
Luis J. Perona – Bass



You may also like...

2 Responses

  1. Jose says:

    amazing¡ you are great¡

  2. melodified says:

    I was searching this for at least 20 years. Still have a review from an old magazine. Super thanks!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.