WIG WAM – Hard To Be A Rock’n Roller… In Tokyo [Japan Edition +3] *HQ*

WIG WAM - Hard To Be A Rock'n Roller... In Tokyo [Japan Edition +3] *HQ* lossless - full

With the new WIG WAM 2023 album, some of yous asked for one the band’s most celebrated records – the first, for many, their finest moment.
The record was originally released in Scandivavia under the funny name ‘667… The Neighbour Of The Beast’. The CD increased the band’s reputation in Norway and the rest of Scandinavia, and when Wig Wam did the Eurovision Song Contest appearance in 2005 – this led to the reissue of the album.
The re-release included that song performed at Eurovision (‘In My Dreams’) plus the instrumental track ‘The Drop’. For its European version it was re-titled Hard To Be a Rock’n Roller.. In Kiev!, and “Hard To Be A Rock’n Roller.. In Tokyo!” in this Japanese Edition, including 3 bonus tracks.

Formed by ex-members of top notch Scandinavian acts namely Dream Police, Sha-Boom and Artch, fronted by Åge Sten Nilsen aka ‘Glam’, Wig Wam took the world by storm in the 2000’s, in many ways responsible of the Melodic Hard Rock / Glam world-wide resurgence.

WIG WAM - Hard To Be A Rock'n Roller... In Tokyo [Japan Edition +3] booklet

‘In My Dreams’ is a great Melodic Rock song spiced with AORish touches in a beautiful ’80s fashioned way. Superb melody, fantastic guitars, multi-layered choruses, outstanding lead vocals and unspeakable fun.
There are other songs of this style, too, although never carbon copy. Most are influenced by Northern Europe’s guitar-driven bands like Dalton, Jaded Heart, Bonfire, even Gotthard when more modern aspects like samples are used, polished in the unique Scandi way.

All is balanced by sleazy glam (‘Car-Lyle’), bluesy hard rock (‘A Long Way To Go’) and heartbreak ballads such as the elaborated ‘Out Of Time’ and ‘Tell Me Where To Go’ including acoustics.
Then, there is an impressive guitar-driven little instrumental (‘Erection’) and a fun cover of Melanie C’s ‘I Turn To You’.

The production, arrangements and instrumentation are great, and of course Åge Sten Nilsen (now fronting Ammunition) is at the top of his game. He can sing literally everything and elevates each song so ideally and takes advantage of any of his natural skills so much that one could think that “Hard To Be A Rock’N’Roller… In Tokyo” is a greatest hits collection. All his textures and vocal expression are flawless.

WIG WAM - Hard To Be A Rock'n Roller... In Tokyo [Japan Edition +3] back

This Japanese Edition includes 3 bonus tracks; the fun ‘Dschinghis Khan’, a hot cover of Sweet’s classic ‘Ballroom Blitz’ and another cover, Wig Wam’s take on Kiss ‘I Was Made For Loving You’.
The latter is originated before the band recorded this album. Wig Wam collaborated with ex-Kiss guitarist Bruce Kulick for an extended version of ‘I Was Made For Loving You’ that would be included in a Kiss Army Norway tribute album. This is a much more glammy, hair metal version of the Kiss classic.
A great Melodic Hard Rock album.


01 – In My Dreams
02 – 667
03 – The Best Song In The World
04 – Crazy Things
05 – Bless The Night
06 – The Drop
07 – No More Living On Lies
08 – Out Of Time
09 – Mine All Mine
10 – Tell Me Where To Go
11 – Car-Lyle
12 – Erection
13 – I Turn To You
14 – A Long Way To Go
15 – Hard To Be A Rock’n Roller
16 – I Was Made For Loving You
17 – Dschinghis Khan
18 – Ballroom Blitz

Glam (Åge Sten Nilsen) — vocals
Teeny (Trond Holter) — guitars
Flash (Bernt Jansen) — bass
Sporty (Øystein Andersen) — drums


out of print:

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.