ASHRAIN – Requiem Reloaded (2023)

ASHRAIN - Requiem Reloaded (2023) - full

ASHRAIN is a newly formed classic metal band founded by guitarist and producer Nozomu Wakai (Destinia / Shortino). Nozomu as Destinia released an album titled Metal Souls in 2018, featuring the likes of Tommy Aldridge, Marco Mendoza, and Ronnie Romero. He also worked with Paul Shortino and his band Shortino, and was also featured on the latest Alcatrazz album.
In 2020, Nozomu began recording new material with his long-time friend Peter Baltes (ex-Accept). They were later joined by vocalist Iuri Sanson (ex-Hibria) and drummer Andy C (ex-Lords Of Black). ASHRAIN was born, and the strong debut ”Requiem Reloaded” was completed. The album was mixed by Simone Mularoni (DGM) at Domination Studio. It also features Elyes Bouchoucha (Myrath) as guest keyboardist.
“Requiem Reloaded” delivers traditional melodious metal / hard rock with an ’80s feel, impressive melodies, guitars with bite, a fat bass, punchy drumming, and clever keyboards – everything that good metal album needs.

These five gentlemen will take you on an exciting trip full of power but with the necessary melody and some amazing shredding by Mr. Nozomu. A big bonus is that Iuri Sanson fits in well with his singing that sometimes reminds me of a certain mister Romero with as main difference that Sanson jumps into the higher regions more often, and he does that in style.
Opener ‘Are You Ready For Rock?’ speaks for itself, with a killer hard rock riff and catchy melodies. ‘Still Burn’ and ‘Break Through The Fire’ are in the same vein with an ’80s edgy but commercial feel.

The second part of the record is heavier, and does not let up for a moment. Some tracks have a ‘sophisticated’ start but as soon as Andy C and Peter Baltes lay down the groove all hell breaks loose and Ashrain goes into overdrive. However, you just feel that Ashrain should be capable to kick out a great power ballad or something in that direction. That might be something they hold back for a second album perhaps.
For now, the band gets away with their hard rock muscle and metallic force. And they’re darn good at it.
Highly Recommended


01 Are You Ready For Rock?
02 Requiem For Screamer
03 Put On The Trigger
04 Still Burn
05 Break Through The Fire
06 Symphony Of Despair
07 Believe
08 No Surrenders
09 The End Of Sorrow
10 We Fight To Win

Iuri Sanson – vocals
Nozomu Wakai – guitar
Peter Baltes – bass
Andy C – drums
Elyes Bouchoucha – keys


Pre order:

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.