SAGA – Steel Umbrellas +1 (2021 Edition remastered) *EXCLUSIVE* / HQ

SAGA - Steel Umbrellas +1 (2021 Edition remastered) *EXCLUSIVE* / losslesss - full

We have been featuring here the Canadian legends SAGA reissue series started in 2021 with fresh remastered versions. This newest release of “Steel Umbrellas +1 (2021 Edition remastered)” featured in exclusive at 0dayrox includes a bonus track.
Over 40 years have passed since melodic prog-rock band SAGA released their self-titled debut album. Since then, they have been an exceptional musical phenomenon and toured the globe various times — all the while selling over 10 million albums worldwide.
Their sonic trademarks – synthesizer harmonies, keyboard-guitar riffs, melodic arrangements, and the charismatic vocals of frontman Michael Sadler – have made Saga an influential rock act of the modern era.
Celebrating the band’s four-decade legacy earMUSIC continues with the band’s reissue series exquisitely remastered and these “must own” releases will be welcome additions to the musical libraries of the Saga faithful.

The criminally underrated “Steel Umbrellas” is best known for featuring a more commercial side of the band. After the great ‘The Security Of Illusion’, SAGA released this “Steel Umbrellas” in 1994, and it was some kind of a shock because most the songs are pure ’80 rock&pop / AOR oriented.
SAGA not only put aside their trademark proggy here, but also was a brave move to present a new album like this in 1994 in the crest of the grunge movement dominating the charts.
But SAGA don’t care about Billboard or trends…

Well, occurs this material was originally composed as a soundtrack for a TV series called ‘Cobra’, which needed an ’80s feel. Mixed by Mike Ging (Toto, Michael Jackson, Nazareth) in L.A., “Steel Umbrellas” takes you straight back to a pure glossy Eighties sound. Production is huge, bombastic.
However, opener “Why Not” is a great rocking tune in all SAGA’s tradition, whith the typical melodies from the band and you can catch some groovy atmospheres which gives room to breathe for the wonderful guitar lines of Ian Crichton.

But since track 2 “(You Were) Never Alone”, this is a true melodic, punchy rock&pop / lite AOR ’80s album with keyboards / synth stabs, sharp rhythm guitars, exotic electronic drums and catchy choruses. I love in this track the jumpin’ guitar work that takes you back to the Miami Vice years! Killer track.
The band’s classic line-up was still intact on this album, although they utilized three backing vocalists to help expand the vocal harmonies.

“Shake that Tree” has Jim Gilmour on vocals. It’s a groovy midtempo track with the guitar parts mixed to the background, pumping bass lines and a cool female background choir. Underneath the smooth production you can hear all the elements of Saga trademarks and I always liked the voice of Jim for a couple of songs.
Then “Password Pirate” is a Rock&pop track which is totally unlike Saga; interesting to hear how the band takes a completely different course and manages to lay down some fashionable sparkling melodies. You have a very dynamic, funky number in “Steamroller”, upbeat and fun, showing another interesting side of SAGA. There’s also great AOR ballads in “I Walk With You” and “Say Goodbye To Hollywood”, both build over elegant melodies, smooth production and fine choruses with nice backing vocal harmonies.

Overall, “Steel Umbrellas” definitely features a softer, poppy melodic SAGA side than its preceding albums but doesn’t neglect the signature SAGA sound.
You can tell this is a soundtrack for an ’80s inspired TV series / movie, and if you ask me, I love it!
If you are fan of Eighties bombastic productions, catchy melodies and perfect instrumentation, then you need to discover “Steel Umbrellas”, and this 2021 edition remastered is the right way to do it.
’80s fans, this is Highly Recommended

You’ve seen it first at 0dayrox


01 – Why Not (Remastered 2021)
02 – (You Were) Never Alone (Remastered 2021)
03 – Bet on This (Remastered 2021)
04 – Shake That Tree (Remastered 2021)
05 – Password Pirate – Access Code – Password Pirate (Remastered 2021)
06 – I Walk with You (Remastered 2021)
07 – Push It (Remastered 2021)
08 – Steamroller (Remastered 2021)
09 – Say Goodbye to Hollywood (Remastered 2021)
10 – Feed the Fire (Remastered 2021)
11 – I Walk with You [Live] (Remastered 2021)

Michael Sadler – vocals
Ian Crichton – guitars
Jim Gilmour – keyboards, vocals
Jim Crichton – bass
Steve Negus – drums, percussion
Paula Mattioli, Fred White, Stu Saddoris – backing vocals



You may also like...

1 Response

  1. Rudio says:

    Thank you!
    Interesting to compare with the 2015-remaster.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.