DREAM THEATER – Lost Not Forgotten Archives; When Dream And Day Unite Demos 1987-1989 (2023)

DREAM THEATER - Lost Not Forgotten Archives; When Dream And Day Unite Demos 1987-1989 (2023) - full

DREAM THEATER is releasing another volume of their excellent remastered / revised “Lost Not Forgotten Archives“: “When Dream And Day Unite Demos 1987-1989“. Originally released in 2004 on their own label Ytsejam Records, ”When Dream And Day Unite Demos (1987-1989)” collects together the pre-production recordings of what would go on to become Dream Theater’s debut album.
The release also features as extra 6 tracks the band recorded as a holiday gift to friends.
It was with 1992’s Images And Words album, when Dream Theater scored an unlikely radio and MTV hit in ‘Pull Me Under’, that their Rush-inspired, progressive metal first came to prominence. Indeed, there are countless fans who even now fail to realise that back in 1989, with Charlie Dominici and not James LaBrie on vocals, the band released their pivotal ”When Dream And Day Unite” debut.
The finished album sounds very ’80s, and so these early versions, especially Kevin Moore’s keyboard work. While some of these demo takes are instrumental, others feature Dominci showcasing his strong pipes and again, his ’80s-style phrasing.


1. Afterlife Demo
2. The Killing Hand Instrumental Demo
3. The Ones Who Help to Set the Sun Demo
4. Ytse Jam Instrumental Demo
5. Cry for Freedom Instrumental Demo
6. Resurrection of Ernie Demo
7. Drum Solo Instrumental Demo
8. A Fortune in Lies Demo
9. Only a Matter of Time Demo
10. A Fortune in Lies Early Charlie Demo
11. Afterlife Early Charlie Demo
12. The Ones Who Help to Set the Sun Early Charlie Demo

1. A Fortune in Lies WDADU Pre-Production Demo
2. Afterlife WDADU Pre-Production Demo
3. Ytse Jam WDADU Pre-Production Demo
4. Only a Matter of Time WDADU Pre-Production Demo
5. The Ones Who Help to Set the Sun WDADU Pre-Production Demo
6. The Killing Hand WDADU Pre-Production Demo 00:08:26
7. Light Fuse and Get Away WDADU Pre-Production Demo
8. To Live Forever Xmas Demo
9. Mission Impossible Xmas Demo
10. Golden Slumbers/Carry that Weight/The End Xmas Demo
11. O Holy Night Xmas Demo
12. A Vision ’89 Xmas Demo
13. Untitled Xmas Demo

Charlie Dominici – vocals
John Petrucci – guitars
Kevin Moore – keyboards
John Myung – bass
Mike Portnoy – drums & percussion


Pre order:

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.