THE DEFIANTS – Drive (2023) *HQ*

THE DEFIANTS - Drive (2023) - lossless full

Formed by Paul Laine, Bruno Ravel and Rob Marcello, who are all current or former members of popular hard rockers Danger Danger, THE DEFIANTS upcoming opus titled “Drive” is yet another impeccable slice of melodic hard rock of the highest order.
The Defiants debut album was greeted with a great acclaim as a glorious return to the “in your face” melodic hard rock that enraptured millions of fans back in the ’80s and ’90s and is currently enjoying a renaissance here in the 21st century
Needless to say, “Drive” has all the ingredients to thrill both D2 and The Defiants fans. A BIG melodic rock album with huge choruses, hooks and soaring guitars & vocals. From the crash and bang of big-riffed opener ‘Hey Life’ and the infectious hooks of ‘Go Big or Go Home’ to the cool almost ‘Springfield-esque’ AOR of ‘Summertime’ and the Bon Jovi flavoured Power Pop of ‘What Are We Waiting For’ you know The Defiants are back but this time bigger and better than before even if that is seemingly impossible!

Indeed ‘Defiants III’ or as the band call it ‘Drive’ is a pretty special record, maybe even the best they have landed yet and yet again the ex D2 members are firing on all cylinders with Paul Laine sounding wonderful as ever.
Even if ‘Miracle’ sounds a little like later period Def Leppard it’s not the worst ballad you’ll have heard just not as inspiring as anything that came before it. Still I’m sure some out there will love it. After all who cares when the ‘Against the Grain’ sets us back on the road again with a Melodic rocker par excellence!
Half way through the journey this is feeing just right.

‘So Good’ hits early Bon Jovi territory again, and ‘Love Doesn’t Live Here Anymore’, is slick sumptuous AOR with a mountain-high refrain, it’s wonderful.
It’s hard to follow a song like that but ‘Another Time, Another Place’ another AOR tinged mid tempo manages to keep the wonderful ride on the road before ‘The Night To Remember’ gets us back in the fast lane on the freeway with another roaring chorus.

We close a sensational third release with ‘Nothing’s Gonna Stop Me Now’ a crunching rocker that just hits the spot, it sums up an album that shows both the harder edge the band can seemingly produce at will and a softer, more mature AOR sound that is an equal feast for the ears.
With two great albums already in the bank, this just might be my new favourite The Defiants record.


1.Hey Life
2.Go Big Or Go Home
3.19 Summertime
4.What Are We Waiting For
6.Against The Grain
7.So Good
8.Love Doesn’t Live Here Anymore
9.Another Time, Another Place
10.The Night To Remember
11.Nothing’s Gonna Stop Me No

Paul Laine: Vocals, Guitar
Bruno Ravel: Bass
Rob Marcello: Guitar
Van Romaine: Drums

Produced by Paul Laine & Bruno Ravel


Pre order:

You may also like...

1 Response

  1. Neil Tudor says:

    WOW….. WHAT AN AWESOME ALBUM……. 5 or 6 really excellent tracks (Another time Another Place for instance) ..great vocals…soaring high and clear…… some Bon Jovi influence…always melodic… essential purchase

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.