DARE FORCE – Firepower [20th Century Music remaster +4] (2023) *0dayrox Exclusive*

DARE FORCE - Firepower [20th Century Music remaster +4] (2023) *0dayrox Exclusive* - full

DARE FORCE is a cult hard rock / metal band that was initially formed in Minneapolis in the late 1970s. Dare Force released three albums in the 1980s, and performed in concert with numerous national acts such as KISS, Ted Nugent, Triumph, Kansas, UFO, Joe Perry Project, Ratt – just to name a few – as well as headlining in venues throughout the US, Canada, Puerto Rico, and South America. The band also had several songs that received heavy airplay on rock radio stations throughout the US in the ’80s.
Dare Force released its third CD, ”Firepower” with a reformed version of the band in 1989. It’s perhaps their most celebrated record, with a melodic hard rock radio friendly approach. Now it’s being reissued / remastered by 20th Century Music and featured in exclusive at 0dayrox.
A real, long-lost cult classic of American melodic / hard rock from the late 80s, the album was originally released on Logic Records in 1989, and while ”Firepower” has been reissued two decades ago, now is extremely sought after again by fans of bands like Rough Cutt, Icon, Dokken, Keel, Black N’ Blue, etc and collectors in general.

Johnny O’Neil began playing lead guitar in nightclubs in the Twin Cities at the tender age of 14. Johnny, along with Brian Bart, is one of the two founding members and lead guitarists of Dare Force. He also has played in bands such as White Raven and pompsters Archangel, and was replaced by world-renowned keyboardist Yanni after he left Archangel to form Dare Force.
The rest of the personnel at the time of “Firepower joined the band a year before.

Musically ”Firepower” brings to mind all the aforementioned acts but especially the melodic side of Icon (the Arizona melodic hard rockers) on the more AORish songs, while the edgy hard rockers brings to mind Lion.
Opener ‘Stand Alone’ is a highlight with its melodious midtempo pump, ‘Cold And Lonely Nights’, the sharp title track ‘Firepower’, the dynamic ‘Walkin’ Out the Door’, the catchy ‘Hold On Tight’ are also really good.
While production was on a budget the album captured the band’s tight playing, and this remaster does a fine job getting the best of it.
A limited edition reissue, and a worthy addition to your ’80s melodic hard rock collection.

You’ve seen it first at 0dayrox


01 – Stand Alone
02 – Firepower
03 – Cold And Lonely Nights
04 – Time’s Just A Circle
05 – Hold On Tight
06 – Middle Of The Night
07 – Walkin’ Out The Door
08 – Give Ya All My Lovin
09 – Name Of The Game
10 – Evil Woman
11 – Ride Sally (Bonus Track)
12 – Hell And Back (Bonus Track)
13 – All Come Home (Bonus Track)
14 – Second Chance (Bonus Track)

Brian Bart – Guitar, Keyboards, Vocals
Johnny O’Neil – Guitar, Vocals
Karl Young – Lead Vocals
Dean Vallecillo – Bass, Vocals
Paul Peterson – Drums



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.