ROBIN GEORGE – Dangerous Music +9 [Angel Air remaster + Sanctuary Records exclusive bonus]

ROBIN GEORGE - Dangerous Music +9 [Angel Air remaster + Sanctuary Records exclusive bonus] - full

Although only achieved cult status in the United States, Great Britain’s ROBIN GEORGE is legendary in his home country. Even though he’s probably best known as a backing guitarist for a variety of well-known British superstars such as Phil Lynott, Glenn Hughes, Robert Plant and John Wetton, George is very much a songwriter and musician in his own right.
And while we had to wait more than three decades to see his hit album “Dangerous Music” properly reissued, it’s wonderful to hear these pure ’80s tunes. The big problem with this album re-issues was the terrible sound. The Sanctuary / Castle Records (2000) did some decent job, but not what this 1985 recording needed.
Fortunately in 2010 Angel Air Records put out this quite good remastered version including 6 bonus, mostly previously unreleased tracks for our listening pleasure. As requested, here’s “Dangerous Music” best remaster, and we added as extra the Sanctuary release 3 exclusive bonus tracks.

“Dangerous Music” is a very slick commercial album combining radio rock, AOR and Melodic Rock.
But George was one of those artists who was able to balance commercial appeal with artistic integrity, and thus his music was very appealing to both communities.
The album features plenty of Robin’s tasty guitar work (of course) but it also presents many songs that, in a perfect world, would have been major hits.

“Heartline” opens this remastered edition. This is simply an amazing track. It’s catchy as hell and contains one of the best guitar solos in memory. The song is a classic. There is something of a hit-single about it, plucky keyboards and great background vocals courtesy of Mr. Chris Thompson and Pete Green.
“Spy” is rock&pop with a hit refrain that sticks like superglue. Robin’s guitar still rocks no matter the amount of pop refrains that has been applied.

In the sharp AOR keyboard-laden “Shout” George utilises an arsenal of fine Synth Guitars, in a song where rhythm rules.
Robin has always mixed his contemporaries with his personal older influences; “Hit List” does not sound like a track from the eighties, it’s more a late seventies hard rocker with a glossy production.
The compulsory ballad takes a while, but “Don’t Turn Away” encourages slow dancing with full body contact without being overly sentimental. It feels sincere all in all.

We have other luminaries contributing in this recording; master Pino Palladino, Phil Lynott (Thin Lizzy) and Phil Soussan (Ozzy, Billy Idol) share bass duties. Kex Gorham (ex- Magnum) and Dave Holland (ex- Judas Priest) share the drumming, while Mark Stanway (Magnum) plays some keyboards.
This remaster features the tracks that appeared on the original vinyl release plus a bunch of cool bonus tracks previously unreleased. If you have any previous reissue CD you should check the sound quality of this new remaster (and also get the bonuses).

“Dangerous Music” is an excellent 80s album that unfortunately got lost in the blur of the decade most likely because the original record company (Bronze) folded soon after the initial release.
This reissue will hopefully make more people aware of this talented fellow’s early recorded work.
Top pick


01 – Heartline
02 – Spy
03 – No News Is Good News
04 – French Kisses
05 – Stolen From My Heart
06 – Shout
07 – Showdown
08 – Hit List
09 – Shoot In Sight
10 – Don’t Turn Away
11 – Space Kadett (B-side)
Live at Tommy Vance TV Show;
12 – Heartline [prev. unreleased]
13 – Spy [prev. unreleased]
14 – No News Is Good News [prev. unreleased]
Previously unreleased on CD;
15 – Heartline (Dangerous Mix)
16 – Don’t Turn Away (Dangerous Mix)


17 – Heartline (12” version) [Sanctuary remastered release]
18 – Showdown (Live version) [Sanctuary remastered release]
19 – Heartline (Live version) [Sanctuary remastered release]

Robin George: Vocals, All Guitars, Guitar & Bass Synth, Fairlight, Effects
Pino Paladino: Bass, Fretless Bass
Phil Soussan: Bass
Phil Lynott: Bass
Mark Stanway: Synthesizer
Pete Green: Synthesizer
Adrian Lee: Keyboards, Synthesizer, Bass Synth
Dave Holland: Drums
Kex Gorham: Drums
Kex Gorin: Percussion
Chris Thompson, Pete Green, Robin: Backing Vocals


Sold Out

You may also like...

1 Response

  1. melodified says:

    Superiously awesome!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.