TOKYO SPANDIXXX – Give A Loud F*ck (2020) + Kick Big Ass (2017) *Exclusive*

TOKYO SPANDIXXX - Give A Loud F*ck (2020) + Kick Big Ass (2017) *Exclusive* - full

As requested, here’s the two EP’s from Japanese hair metal revivals TOKYO SPANDIXXX, a band not so well known here but very busy in the East.
The EP titles – ”Give A Loud F*ck (2020)”, ”Kick Big Ass (2017)” – and the album covers puts clear what this band is all about: comedy hair metal. Sure, Tokyo Spandixxx looks as the Japanese version of Steel Panther (but heavier). And you are right. And the best part of it is they write very, very good ’80s-style glam metal tunes.
Tokyo Spandixxx benefits from an essential factor when you play this type of stuff: your singer needs to have ‘that Sunset Strip’ swagger and no accent.
Unlike other Japanese bands, you have a North American singer with Pete Lixxx fronting the band – real name Pete Klassen, Canadian born – currently member of very good rockers STRIKER as well – and everything works like a charm: TOKYO SPANDIXXX sound and feels like 1986 LA band.
And did I mentioned the songs are very good, plenty of sharp heavy riffs, big rhythm section with cowbell at all, explicit fun lyrics and a strong vocalist.

A band can have the best marketing in the world but if the music sucks, that group likely won’t make it or at least not make it in the long run. Well, it is apparent that Tokyo Spandixxx have the total package with great visuals and some fantastic songs as well.
There is no question that Tokyo Spandixxx have borrowed a lot of ideas from Steel Panther and particularly with their fun sexually charged lyrics and titles. In addition and similar to Steel Panther, they write killer songs with fantastic melodies, cool guitar riffs and easy to sing along to songs.

And let me tell you, Steel Panther are a hard act to follow. Many bands are trying to follow their lead and many fall short such as Turbo Shokk who did everything that Steel Panther did from comedy filled interviews, to sexually charged lyrics, and song titles but the music on the group’s debut album Get Radical fell quite short of what Steel Panther offer.

That simply is not an issue for Tokyo Spandixxx as their music more than hold its own against what the mighty Steel Panther have to offer.
A band’s success often starts and ends with the vocals and Tokyo Spandixxx lead vocalist Pete Lixxx is simply a fantastic singer who seemingly can hit all the notes including the high pitch screams. Canadian Pete Klassen is well known vocalist with professional training and a wide octave range. His professional music career began mostly in Japan where he worked closely with countless agencies and producers on lyrics and compositions for video game music, TV commercials, pro-wrestlers and various artists.

Tokyo Spandixxx Kick Big Ass

Guitarist Axxxe‘s guitar playing is absolutely stupendous and very similar to what Steel Panther guitarist Satchel offers, which is some great guitar riffs during the songs and some fantastic memorable solos when the time comes. His style is heavier, more metallic, hence Tokyo Spandixxx sound is pretty metallic.
The rhythm section of bassist YOU and drummer Dr. Himaxxx (where do they get these names?) provides a great foundation for Lixxx, Axxxe and most importantly the songs to shine.
Alright, as you can gather, I am very impressed with the musicianship displayed by the Tokyo Spandixxx band members.

By this time, you might be wondering — ‘What about the songs?’ Well, as I previously stated, Tokyo Spandixxx more than deliver the goods. Despite the silly song titles and lyrics – you need to approach this with humor – musically these are killer ’80 rockers.
These discs are kind of hard to find outside of Japan so I suggest that you try the link below if you are interested in getting a physical copy of the EPs.
Highly Recommended

You’ve seen it first at 0dayrox


01 – Beefy Vagina
02 – Dick It
03 – Give A Loud F*ck
04 – Nodochinko
05 – Balls of Steel
06 – Panty Party
07 – Kick Big Ass
08 – Big Tits Rockin’
09 – Crap Your Hands
10 – Summer Time Lovers

Pete Lixxx – Vocals
Axxxe – Guitars
You – Bass
Himaxxx – Drums


Try Here

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.