TYGERS OF PAN TANG – The Wreck-Age [Japan Deluxe Edition remastered + bonus disc] (2023) HQ *Exclusive*

TYGERS OF PAN TANG - The Wreck-Age [Japan Deluxe Edition remastered + bonus disc] (2023) HQ *Exclusive* - full

Now here’s in Exclusive the just released Japanese Deluxe Edition of TYGERS OF PAN TANG 1985’s “The Wreck-Age”, a 2-disc set featuring a new remaster of the album, plus a bonus CD including demos and outtake from the same sessions.
Originally forming in Whitley Bay in the North-East of England in 1978, Tygers Of Pan Tang came to prominence as lynchpins of the New Wave Of British Heavy Metal, alongside Iron Maiden and Saxon. Singer Jon Deverill replaced original vocalist Jess Cox for the Tygers’ second major label album ‘Spellbound’, released on MCA in 1981. Despite Top 20 success with fourth album ‘The Cage’, following a minor hit with their cover of ‘Love Potion Number 9’, the band called it a day in 1984.
But Deverill and founding drummer Brian Dick returned with this new incarnation of the band, which sported a more radio-friendly sound than the initial era of the group.

CD1 features ‘The Wreck-Age’, an album including songs such as ‘The First (The Only One)’, ‘Dream Ticket’ and ‘Sweet Lies’, commercial melodic tunes bordering the AOR sound of the mid-80s. CD2 features some early versions / demos, but mostly outtakes that never made it into the final track list.
‘The Wreck-Age’ original production wasn’t the best, and this remaster shapes the best sound quality possible. The mini-LP format reissue replicates the original British LP cover which is cool.
While this album isn’t in the vein of the hard rocking first Tygers LPs, if you like that ’80s British Melodic Rock / AOR sound you need to hear this 1985 record.
Highly Recommended

You’ve seen it first at 0dayrox


Vivid Sound Corporation
【WSBAC ~165-66】

DISC-1 “The Wreck-Age” remastered 2023 DSD
1. Waiting
2. Protection
3. Innocent Eyes
4. Desert Of No Love
5. The Wreck-Age
6. Women In Cages
7. Victim
8. Ready To Run
9. All Change Faces
10. Forgive And Forget

DISC-2 “The Wreck-Age” Demos & Outtakes
1. Forgive And Forget (early version)
2. Not Guilty (outtake)
3. Undercurrent (outtake)
4. The Wreck-Age (early version)
5. You’re On Your Own (outtake)
6. Time To Regret (outtake)
7. Slow Recovery (outtake)
8. The Face Of Innocence (outtake)
9. Shadow Of The Past (outtake)
10. Waiting (early version)

Jon Deverill: Vocals
Steve Lamb: Guitars, backing vocals
Brian Dick: Drums
additional musicians:
Steve Thompson: Keyboards, programming, bass
Phil Caffrey: Backing vocals



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.