JOE ELLIOTT’S DOWN ‘N’ OUTZ – My ReGeneration (2010)

Sometimes, the most interesting of projects arise from the most unusual of circumstances.
So it is that the Down ‘N Outz is a project fronted by Def Leppard’s Joe Elliott, backed by The Quireboys and playing rare tracks connected only by the classic rock band Mott The Hoople….

Joe Elliott takes up the story; “When Mott The Hoople announced they were reforming for a week’s worth of shows at the Hammersmith Odeon I was asked that I participate in some capacity.
They’ve always been my favourite band and it’s nice to see the rest of the rock world finally catch up and give them their due.”

“But, what was I to do? It was suggested to me that the Quireboys would be up for offering their services. This was perfect!
A fan since their first album, I loved the idea of working with a band as enthusiastic to do this as I was.
I decided that the thing to do was play some songs that like-minded people thought they would never hear live again, if ever, songs by spin offs of Mott the Hoople – songs by Mott, Ian Hunter and British Lions.
Songs that are close to my heart, songs that I’ve played every week for the best part of 35 years on record, cassette, CD, iPod and now live.”

The Down ‘N Outz supported Mott The Hoople at one of their legendary 2009 reformation shows at Hammersmith Odeon.
In addition to Joe Elliott (Vocals/Guitar/Keyboards), the band featured The Quireboys’ Paul Guerin (Guitar), Guy Griffin (Guitar), Keith Weir (keyboards) and Phil Martini (drums) and finally bassist Ronnie Garrity (Raw Glory).
Following a rapturous reception, the one night project took on a life and energy of its own and an album project was born.

Down ‘N Outz then set about recording an album’s worth of material.
The album was produced by Joe Elliott with co-production by Ronan McHugh, and recorded at Joe Elliott’s own studio, Joe’s Garage, and Moor Hall studio in Bedfordshire.
Prior to it’s general release fans will be able to get hold of the 10-track album mounted on the issue of Classic Rock magazine on sale on the 23rd June 2010.

Full tracklisting (with original recording artist):

2. STORM (Mott)
5. ENGLAND ROCKS (Ian Hunter)
7. BY TONIGHT (Mott)
8. WHO DO YOU LOVE (Ian Hunter)
9. ONE MORE CHANCE TO RUN (British Lions)
10. GOOD TIMES (Mott, originally recorded by The Easybeats)

Joe Elliott (Def Leppard) – Vocals/Guitar/Keyboards
Paul Guerin (The Quireboys) – Guitar
Guy Griffin (The Quireboys) – Guitar
Keith Weir (The Quireboys) – Keyboards
Phil Martini (The Quireboys) – Drums
Ronnie Garrity (Raw Glory) – Bass


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.