BRETT WALKER – Nevertheless [remastered +1]

BRETT WALKER - Nevertheless [remastered +1] (2013) mp3 download

Originally released in 1994 on the Swedish independent label Empire Records, American singer/songwriter BRETT WALKER debut “Nevertheless” impressively charted in Scandinavia’s Top 40. Walker – who was following up his chart success with his penned track Alias’ Top 10 smash ‘Waiting For Love’ – in “Nevertheless” delivered 12 tracks of sure fire Melodic Rock magic.
Once again flexing his own masterful writing muscle, the first single from this CD, “Lecia”, would crack the Top 10 in Europe. This track is pure Gold, Melodic Rock at its finest expression, somekind of Journey hybridized with Rick Springfield. One of my favorite songs of all time in the genre.

Not content with just being an very talented singer, guitarist and songwriter, Brett has also called-in some pretty heavyweight help for this album; Jonathan Cain (Journey, Bad English), Jim Peterik (Survivor, Pride Of Lions), Stan Bush, ’80s soundtrack hero Nick Gilder and Carl Dixon (Coney Hatch). Wow…
Former Survivor main-man Jim Peterik doesn’t just help anybody, does he? Jim co-writes two songs here: the killer Survivor influenced “Take me Home”, and the classy midtempo AOR “Didn’t Mean to Say Goodbye”.

Journey’s Jonathan Cain co-writes and also produces “Bad Time for Goodbye”, a bouncing eighties diamond which actually sounds more like his earlier work with The Babys.

The extremely melodious “Everything I Want to Do” is co-written with Nick Gilder; Stan Bush adds his magical ‘touch’ (pun intended) in the co-penned “Hard to Find an Easy Way” (I love this one), while the soaring Melodic Rock perfection of “More Than a Memory” is co-written with former Coney Hatch man Carl Dixon.

All tracks are great (no fillers here), but I have to mention another of my all time favorites; “No Fire Without You”, a magnificent expression of melody and pulse all together into a fabulous song that makes Def Leppard envy in red.
“Nevertheless” went out of print soon in the nineties, but luckily at this very beginning of 2013 it’s being re-issued by Divebomb Records in a limited remastered (great one) edition featuring a brand new remixed version of the previously Japanese-only bonus track “Midnight Angel” – an awesome tune, trust me – and refreshed artwork.
Brett Walker’s “Nevertheless” is a Must Have for any AOR / Melodic Rock fan.


01 – Hard To Find A Easy Way

02 – Lecia

03 – Everything I Want To Do

04 – Take Me Home

05 – Never Gave Roses

06 – Quicksand

07 – Didn’t Mean To Say Goodbye

08 – Bring Back The Night

09 – No Fire Without You

10 – Bad Time For Goodbye

11 – More Than A Memory

12 – Give A Little Love

13 – Midnight Angel [2012 remix] (bonus track)


Brett Walker – vocals, guitar, keyboards

Buddy Allen – bass, backing vocals

Brian Jones – bass

David Prater – drums, percussion, production

Moon Calhoun – drums, backing vocals

Mugs Cain – drums

Stan Bush, Jonathan Cain – backing vocals



You may also like...

1 Response

  1. Anonymous says:

    I´ve discovered so many great bands – Last Autumns Dream, Hess, Lionville, Ten, Silence… the list goes on forever – because of you and your amazing blog. Keep up the great work! AOR-greetings from Sweden.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.