MAVERICK – Big Red (2016)

MAVERICK - Big Red (2016) full

For many, one of the big surprises this year will be “Big Red“, the amazing new album by MAVERICK, a five-piece from Northern Ireland whom have been building their fan base since 2012 and four years later this new album may well propel them further forward.

The one thing you are going to hear throughout this album from start to finish is huge guitar riffs from lead guitarist Ryan Balfour and the strong pipes of his brother and lead vocalist David Balfour.
Don’t believe me? Well, just listen to the intro tracks “All For One” and “Free” which feature all these aspects, including an outstanding harmonising section from the rest of the band (and a bass solo from Richie Diver).

The young bucks from Belfast have never shied away from expressing their musical influences from the likes of Poison to Winger to Warrant and while you hear an influence of each of these bands throughout the album they were shown predominately in the catchy love song “The One” and the party classic “Whiskey Lover” that will have anyone listening to this album up dancing with a bottle of Jack in hand.
There was even a tasteful Thin Lizzy / Dokken mixture added to the following track “Renegade.”

Of course there is one track that need special mention; “Asylum”. This tune features some huge special guests in The Poodles’ lead vocalist Jakob Samuelsson and a guitar solo from Alice Cooper’s former guitarist Kane Roberts.
The connection between Maverick and The Poodles started while Maverick supported The Poodles on their last European tour, this friendship then blossomed into what we have now, a powerful vocal duet between David Balfour and Jakob Samuel. While the solo is short but sweet the famous muscle-man Kane showed us that he still has what it takes to blow us away, machine gun guitar or not.

MAVERICK - Big Red (2016) back

Holy cow… this band are a force to be reckoned with. Maverick’s style on “Big Red” take you back to the glorious late ’80s / early ’90s with an impressive urgency but an enviable maturity.
You will be pleasantly surprised by these guys… impressive stuff.
HIGHLY Recommended


01. All For One
02. Free
03. The One
04. Mademoiselle
05. Forever
06. In The Night
07. Whisky Lover
08. Renegade
09. Beyond The Gates
10. Asylum
11. Fly Away

Lead Vocals: David Balfour
Guitar: Ryan Sebastian Balfour
Guitar: Terry McHugh
Bass: Richie Diver
Drums: Mike Ross



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.