AGE OF REFLECTION – In The Heat Of The Night (2017)

AGE OF REFLECTION - In The Heat Of The Night (2017) full

AGE OF REFLECTION’s acronym A.O.R. is an apt name for this new Scandinavian band as their style is in the pure AOR variety. We already featured their EP here on the blog, and now the guys are releasing their full length CD “In The Heat Of The Night” via, of course, AOR Heaven Records.

I was surprised to discover that the musicians who make up the core of this band were previously in an industrial metal band as there is no connection in style whatsoever this is Eighties inspired AOR / melodic rock.
But seems these folks wanted to create a timeless album in this genre’s purest sense and they did so with loving affection… and great results.

On my first listen through “In The Heat Of The Night” I am impressed of how Age Of Reflection has evolved from the debut EP, both in musicianship and songwriting.
The songs are really well crafted with a defined vision for the overall classy sound. It’s obvious these musicians have a passion and love for the genre – I am sure they grow up listening to it – so thanks to their parents for the ’80s discography!

However, whilst it is pure AOR, the guitars are slightly harder edged which gives the album a nice punch and the keyboards are subtler but still critical to the band’s overall sound, like the ivory hook on ‘Blame It On My Heart’ which had me biting my lip in ecstasy.
Sticking to eleven tracks also means no filler has slipped into the mix making the album more impressive when you listen to it as a whole.

There’s radio hits in the waiting like ‘Every Time’ and ‘Evelyn’ that excite me most. These tracks alone should make Age Of Reflection instant AOR heroes.
But I know listeners will also be impressed with the mesmerising ‘The Mirror Never Lies’ and the understated ballad ‘Always’ with its vocal harmony embellished chorus.

Erik Martensson who is doing his best to become a genre legend with his songwriting, producing and with his own band Eclipse, has mixed & mastered this album and has done a superb job for Age Of Reflection as the songs really benefit from his luxurious work behind the desk.

“In The Heat Of The Night” has everything an AOR fan desires and it’s on show in abundance throughout the album. There’s lots of delicious melodies, big choruses, smooth vocal harmonies and songs that have a beautifully mesmerising tone.
The smooth vocals and driven guitars will really capture fans interest and I can see this album been talked about a lot in the coming months.
Welcome to the classy AOR / Melodic Rock scene Age Of Reflection.
HIGHLY Recommended


01 – Borderline
02 – The Mirror Never Lies
03 – Every Time
04 – In the Heat of the Night
05 – Always
06 – Evelyn
07 – Blame It on My Heart
08 – Now and Forever
09 – You Are My Light
10 – Dying for Your Love
11 – Every Time

Lars Nygren: Lead Vocals, Background vocals
Jonas Nordquist: Lead guitar
Michael Sjöö: Drums
Carl Berglund: Guitar, Background vocals, Keyboards
Jan Skärming: Bass, Background vocals



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.