NEWMAN – Aerial (2017)

NEWMAN - Aerial (2017) full

Aerial” is the album number eleven by NEWMAN, the band formed around British singer-songwriter and multi-instrumentalist Steve Newman, a man who as been crafting high-quality melodic hard rock for two decades.
Released this September 22 via AOR Heaven, for this recording Newman once again has teamed up with drummer Rob McEwen (who has played on the last nine Newman albums), and also features long time friend Mark Thompson-Smith on vocals on two songs.

The album’s mastering was taken care of by none other than Harem Scarem’s Harry Hess.
Busy time for Steve Newman as he is also part of the revamped Burn line-up who have a new album in November, but before that we have this new Newman album to enjoy… and enjoy it you will.

With a Newman album you can guarantee good, catchy melodic rock and on “Aerial” he has a couple of the best tunes he has done to date.
Namely the superb ‘Fear Of Flying’ which gets the album off to a great start, and ‘High Tonight (Aerial)’, that almost delves into a little prog a la It Bites with the mid-section keys solo giving way to a stonking guitar solo.

‘You Don’t Know Me’ is one of those uptempo, feel good tunes Newman does so well, and along with ‘Always Strangers’, would sound good in the live environment.
‘Can’t Stop Loving You’ is pure AOR resembling Newman’s early works, and in a similar path you have the pomp-tastic ‘Don’t Wake The Lion’.

Newman albums rarely let you down and in “Aerial” we have one of the strongest to date.
It’s musically varied – always revolving around Melodic Rock / AOR – very well arranged and performed with quite dexterous musicianship.
Highly Recommended

01. Fear Of Flying
02. Don’t Wake The Lion
03. Can’t Stop Loving You
04. Life To Remember
05. High Tonight (Aerial)
06. Vertigo (Leap Of Faith)
07. Two Sides
08. I Am Your Man
09. Always Strangers
10. Nothing Left
11. Still Bleeding
12. You Don’t Know Me

Steve Newman – vocals, guitar, bass, synths
Mark Thompson-Smith – vocals
Rob McEwen – drums


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.