LITA FORD – Stiletto [BGO Records digitally remastered] (2017)

LITA FORD - Stiletto [BGO Records digitally remastered] (2017) full

As requested, more LITA FORD remastered albums from the ’80s / 90s, and now it’s time for the really good Stiletto. After the success of her previous album ‘Lita’, Ford’s career got somewhat of a boost, both creatively and commercially. On “Stiletto”, again the input of hit producer / songwriter Mike Chapman is an asset.

Chapman, known for his work with everyone from Sweet to Scandal, liked his rock commercial, slick and hook-laden — adjectives that definitely describe “Stiletto”.
“Stiletto” is one of Lita Ford’s better CDs, and the second in a trilogy she recorded during the Eighties / early Nineties (the others being ‘Lita’ and ‘Dangerous Curves’). Lita has always considered herself primarily a guitarist, and she doesn’t disappoint: her guitar lines always showcased an impressive talent.
While this album is not that guitar-driven – it’s a 1990 release, with polish and accessibility all over – it reveals Lita as a very good rock&pop vocalist as well.

“Stiletto” is a focused and enjoyable disc of glossy-produced songs ranging from sweaty rockers like “Cherry Red,” “Bad Boy” and one of my favorite Lita Ford track ever – “The Ripper” – to the eerie ballad “Lisa” (a heartfelt tribute to her Mom) to a cover of Alice Cooper’s “Only Women Bleed” , very well done.

Title track “Stiletto” is another winner for me: midtempo AORish with atmosphere, sexy vocals and that ‘so 80s’ chorus. “Aces & Eights” is another strong number, some kind of a mix between Lita’s hard rockin’ first solo album with the late ’80s melodic hard rock including ‘mysterious’ synths.

LITA FORD - Stiletto [BGO Records digitally remastered] (2017) back

This remastering from BGO edition is nice, resulting in clean, crisp sound quite similar to a LP and fixing the pretty flat output of the original CD release.
A true ‘1990 production’ melodic hard rock album, Ford’s “Stiletto” deserve a place in your collection.
Highly Recommended


01 – Your Wake Up Call
02 – Hungry
03 – Dedication
04 – Stiletto
05 – Lisa
06 – The Ripper
07 – Big Gun
08 – Only Women Bleed
09 – Bad Boys
10 – Aces & Eights
11 – Cherry Red
12 – Outro

Lita Ford – guitar, vocals
David Ezrin – keyboards, synths
Don Nossov – bass
Myron Grombacher – drums, percussion
additional musicians:
Pablo Calagero, Richie Cannata, Barry Danelian – horns
Mike Chapman, Tim Lawless, Ozzie Melendez – backing vocals
Ralph Schuckett – strings arrangements



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.