V.A. – Pure Fire : The Ultimate Kiss Tribute (2018)

V.A. - Pure Fire : The Ultimate Kiss Tribute (2018) full

In 2004, a star-studded KISS tribute album called ‘Spin The Bottle’ was released featuring contributions from Styx‘s Tommy Shaw, ex-KISS guitarist Bruce Kulick, Toto‘s Steve Lukather / Mike Porcaro, and many other well-known hard rock / metal musicians.
Now, the record is being reissued today October 19 under a new title, “Pure Fire : The Ultimate KISS Tribute”, packaged with a bonus DVD with interviews from the recording sessions.

Other artists who lent their talents to the 11-track collection include Twisted Sister‘s Dee Snider, ex-Journey drummer Aynsley Dunbar, King Kobra’s Carmine Appice, Poison‘s C.C. DeVille, Whitesnake‘s Doug Aldrich, Foreigner‘s Jeff Pilson and Winger frontman Kip Winger.

Among the album’s many highlights are a cover of “Love Gun” featuring Shaw, Lukather and Bogert; a version of “God of Thunder” with contributions from Kulick and Appice; and a rendition of “Stole Your Love” featuring DeVille, Dunbar and The Firm bassist Tony Franklin.

The album was co-produced by KISS studio guitarist Bob Kulick and ex-Racer X guitarist Bruce Bouillet.
The bonus DVD features footage of many of the artists who appear on the album sharing stories about KISS and paying tribute to the rock legends.
Highly Recommended

01. Detroit Rock City [4:31]
Dee Snider – Vocals (Twisted Sister, Widowmaker)
Doug Aldrich – Guitars (Whitesnake, Dio)
Marco Mendoza – Bass (Thin Lizzy, Whitesnake)
John Tempesta – Drums (The Cult, Testament, Exodus, White Zombie)

02. Love Gun [3:59]
Tommy Shaw – Vocals (Styx, Damn Yankees)
Steve Lukather – Guitars (Toto)
Tim Bogart – Bass (Cactus)
Jay Schellen – Drums (Hurricane, Asia)

03. Cold Gin [4:44]
Mark Slaughter – Vocals (Slaughter)
Ryan Roxy – Guitar (Alice Cooper, Gilby Clarke, Slash’s Snakepit)
Robben Ford – Lead Guitar (John Mayall’s Bluesbreakers)
Phil Soussan – Bass (Ozzy, Dio, Vince Neil)
Steve Riley – Drums (L.A. Guns, W.A.S.P.)

04. King of the Night Time World [3:04]
Chris Jericho – Vocals (Fozzy)
Rich Ward – Guitars (Stuck Mojo, Adrenaline Mob)
Mike Inez – Bass (Ozzy, Alice In Chains)
Fred Coury – Drums (Cinderella)

05. I Want You [3:47]
Kip Winger – Vocals / Bass (Winger)
Paul Gilbert – Guitar (Mr. Big, Racer X)
Greg Bissonette – Drums (David Lee Roth, Joe Satriani)

06. God of Thunder [4:12]
Buzz Osborne – Vocals (Melvins)
Bruce Kulick – Guitars (Blackjack, Kiss)
Rob “Blasko” Nicholson – Bass (Ozzy, White Zombie)
Carmine Appice – Drums (King Kobra, Blue Murder)

07. Calling Dr. Love [3:30]
Page Hamilton – Vocals / Guitars (Helmet)
Mike Porcaro – Bass (Toto)
Greg Bissonette – Drums (David Lee Roth, Joe Satriani)

08. Shout It Out Loud [3:57]
Lemmy Kilmister – Vocals / Bass (Motorhead)
Jennifer Batten – Guitar (Michael Jackson, Jeff Beck)
Samantha Maloney – Drums (Hole)

09. Parasite [4:08]
Doug Pinnick – Vocals (King’s X)
Bob Kulick – Guitars (Kiss, Balance)
John Alderete – Bass (Racer X)
Vinnie Colaiuta – Drums (Jeff Beck)

10. Strutter [3:39]
Phil Lewis – Vocals (L.A. Guns)
Gilby Clarke – Guitars (Guns N’ Roses)
Jeff Pilson – Bass (Dokken, Foreigner)
Bobby Rock – Drums (Vinnie Vincent Invasion, Nelson)

11. I Stole Your Love [3:20]
Robin McAuley – Vocals (M.S.G.)
C.C. DeVille – Guitars (Poison)
Tony Franklin – Bass (Firm, Whitesnake, Blue Murder)
Aynsley Dunbar – Drums (UFO, Whitesnake, Journey)


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.