GOTTHARD – Defrosted 2 [Japan Edition +1] (2018)

GOTTHARD - Defrosted 2 [Japan Edition +1] (2018) full

Appeared in 1997, ‘Defrosted’ was the very first live album released by the Swiss hard rock institution GOTTHARD. To this day, it is seen as a cult milestone in the group’s career that helped establish Gotthard as the most successful band from Switzerland.
For more than 25 years, the band has thrived in the global spotlight with a career that includes 16 No. 1 albums, over three million records sold, multiple awards and over 2,000 shows all over the planet. And now, 21 years after ‘Defrosted’, the circle is completed as GOTTHARD returns to Sony Switzerland with “Defrosted 2”, out next December 7.
This Japanese Edition to be released tomorrow includes an exclusive bonus track.

If you’ve missed out on the last 25 years of Gotthard then this sumptuous live release is as good a place as any to start as the band re-work acoustically their greatest hits. The album itself was recorded on the ‘Defrosted Tour’ in March 2018 and there’s a real chemistry between band and audience that seeps through this recording.
But as well as the 22 song showcase fans also get to hear 2 brand new tracks in acoustic format.

Starting with one of my favorites – the soothing melodic ‘Miss Me’ we’re right into good time sing-along territory for ‘Out on My Own’, before ‘Bang’ adds yet another texture and rocks a little harder. It’s a great start and as you can imagine for a band with such a lengthy history there’s plenty to fit in.

Throughout there are some nice touches like the ‘Rock and Roll Ain’t Noise Pollution’ opening bars to ‘Sweet Little Rock ‘N’ Roller’ a honky-tonk tour de force; or the bongo beat that starts ‘Hush’ one of a number of covers the band make their own.

The rest is pretty much a joy from a setlist that doesn’t seem to have a weak spot – there’s the wonderful ‘Heaven’; the come-back single ‘Remember It’s Me’; the tender ‘Beautiful’; and the wonderfully apt closing cover of ‘Smoke on the Water.’

The two new studio tracks also get an acoustic treatment with the rocking ‘Bye Bye Caroline’ a song inspired by that Status Quo classic (Caroline) and featuring a guest appearance by Francis Rossi a nice fun workout.
The new ballad ‘What I Wouldn’t Give’ is rather special and makes you realize that this is a band with so much more ahead of them. It’s a lovey arrangement that drips emotion, and which is sure to elicit the requisite volume of salty tears. The Japan bonus is the version of the song with strings, ‘What I Wouldn’t Give (orchestral version)’.
Put this one on the Christmas list!

01. Miss Me
02. Out On My Own
03. Bang
04. Sweet Little Rock ‘N’ Roller
05. Beautiful
06. Feel What I Feel
07. Hush
08. Remember It’s Me
09. Stay With Me
10. Tequila Symphony No. 5
11. Mountain Mama

01. Why
02. C’est La Vie
03. One Life One Soul
04. Tell Me
05. Starlight
06. Sister Moon
07. Right On
08. Lift U Up
09. Heaven
10. Anytime, Anywhere
11. Smoke On The Water
12. Bye Bye Caroline (acoustic version)
13. What I Wouldn’t Give (acoustic version)
14. What I Wouldn’t Give (orchestral version)

Nic Maeder – Vocals
Leo Leoni – Guitars
Freddy Scherer – Guitars
Marc Lynn – Bass
Hena Habegger – Drums


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.