GOTTHARD – Steve Lee, The Eyes Of A Tiger: In Memory Of Our Unforgotten Friend (2020)

LIONHEART - The Reality Of Miracles (2020) full

Swiss hard rockers GOTTHARD will release tomorrow ‘The Eyes Of A Tiger‘, an album consisting of former singer Steve Lee‘s last recordings. Steve Lee was tragically killed on October 5th 2010 while parked at the side of Interstate 15 in the United States, when a skidding truck hit him and the motorbikes of his friends during bad weather. Steve was only 48 years old.
A remarkable vocalist, whose legacy of work has in no way been forgotten within the rock community. To have these last recordings made available not only gives fans the chance to once again savour Steve’s singing, but also will be part of a fitting tribute to him.
On the tenth anniversary of Steve’s death, GOTTHARD and ‘The Eyes Of A Tiger‘ bow to their frontman and bring two unreleased tracks, including the title track in two versions, and eleven versions performed by GOTTHARD / sung by STEVE LEE.

Ten years ago we had no Pandemic or the likes, but Gotthard’s front-beast Steve Lee died in a tragic motorcycle accident and for a moment the hard rock world stood still. Lee graced Gotthard fans with his voice for 18 glorious years.
I still remember singing along to all those awesome tunes like ‘All I care for’, ‘Hush’, ‘I’m on my Way’, ‘Lift U Up’ and ‘One Life One Soul’ while isolating in my room, heartbroken and alone. Yeah being a teenager did suck but Steve and his mates understood me, they wrote those songs while feeling like I felt.

How do you honour a legend? Someone, who has become immortal through his songs, his voice, and his nature – and ten years after the tragic accident, is still vivid in the hearts of friends, colleagues, and fans.
What do you say about a singer among the world’s finest of his genre, who never lost touch with the real world? It’s only possible with music.

For the 10th anniversary of Steve Lee’s passing, Gotthard bow to their ex-frontman with ‘The Eyes Of A Tiger’. With current vocalist Nic Maeder on backings, the band honour their unforgotten friend with eleven songs, never before presented in this distilled form, as well as two unreleased tracks.
Apart from ‘Tarot Woman’, there are two versions of the 1982 “Rocky” classic ‘Eye Of The Tiger’, one of Steve Lee’s absolute favourites, which were released as the album’s advance single in time for his birthday on August 5.

If you are a fan, buy this right now. If you are a general melodic hard rock fan, buy this album too. It’s great classic stuff. It’s the great Steve Lee.
HIGHLY Recommended


01 – One Life One Soul
02 – Let It Be
03 – In the Name
04 – Lonely People
05 – Heaven
06 – Need to Believe
07 – Lift U Up
08 – Hush
09 – First Time in a Long Time
10 – Tarot Woman
11 – And Then Goodbye
12 – The Train
13 – Eye of the Tiger (Acoustic)
14 – Eye of the Tiger (Electric)



You may also like...

1 Response

  1. mike says:

    Still makes me sad. Seemed like a great guy and loved his voice.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.