FUGITIVE – The Awakening (2019)

FUGITIVE - The Awakening (2019) full

“The Awakening” is the title of the new full length album by FUGITIVE to be released in a couple of weeks This melodic hard rock band from Liverpool, UK has already released a couple of albums, however “The Awakening” is some kind of reborn for them.
Michael (Vocals, Guitar) and Ranko (Lead Guitar) have been playing together since the ’80s, and now they have added a new blood to the band with a fresh rhythm section.

“The Awakening” is melodic hard rock of all times; strong foundation, melodious clean vocals and sweet guitar work.
‘Serendipity’ is a solid opener with a classic feel, drum heavy topped off with some deft fretboard wizardry from Ranko backed by a biting lead vocal from Michael that tugs at the heart strings. ‘Light It Up’ continues in this vein, with ’80-like verses coming at you, and then a harmony chorus.

‘All Fired Up’ lives up to its name with headbanging dynamics and huge choruses. The poignant ‘Two Hearts’ flits from heavy guitars to power balladry in the blink of an eye, while ‘Message’ has radio rock written all over it.
‘Race The Rain’ chugs along in ‘Eye Of The Tiger-mode’ with soul searching lyrics and a laid back guitar solo midway but it turns on its head for a full on outro.
‘Standing At The Edge’, a sure fire stadium rock ballad would surely have lighters in the air from a crowd basking in its glory.

‘Payback’ sees their heavier side return with the guitars dominating by throwing down some potent riffs. The album closes with the autobiographical ‘Awaecan’, telling how Fugitive have awakened since a major line up change. The powerful lyrics are delivered over pristine acoustic guitar lines and strings.

Fugitive play classic melodic hard rock of all times, ’80s inspired however without the bombastic production. The aim here is a more earthy sound, organic, giving room for the harmonies.
These are veterans from the scene with almost forty years of experience, and they know what this genre is all about. There’s a little amateurish here and there, and believe it or not, this give these songs even more charm.
Highly Recommended

01 – Serendipity
02 – Light It Up
03 – The Weekend
04 – Slave to Love
05 – All Fired Up
06 – Two Hearts
07 – Message (Prelude)
08 – Message
09 – Race the Rain
10 – Standing At the Edge
11 – Moonshine
12 – No Resurrection
13 – Payback
14 – Awaecnan

Michael Angel – Vocals, Guitar
Ranko ‘Chip’ Veltro – Lead Guitar
David Steele – Bass
AL Catraz – Drums


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.