JOE SUMMER (feat Goran Edman) – Written On The Horizon (2019)

JOEY SUMMER (feat Goran Edman) - Written On The Horizon (2019) full

With “Written On The Horizon”, Brazilian born JOEY SUMMER presented himself to the Melodic Rock community some time ago. Now he’s re-releasing the album with slight remixes here and there.
Initial aid for the CD came from internationally renowned musicians & songwriters who contributed to the recordings, such as Goran Edman who also performs vocals, Jaded Heart’s Michael Bormann, Kee Marcello, and more.

The guest list includes Jaded Heart bass player Michael Muller performing on “Anymore”, a track penned by Michael Bormann for and recorded by JH.
Together with Brazilian bassist Julio Cezar (Cathedral), talented Swedes Goran Edman (Street Talk, Malmsteen, Glory) and Fredrik Bergh (Street Talk, Bloodbound), can be heard on their Street Talk song “Don’t Believe”.

The duo also provided other track from their Street Talk days; “Tables Turning”, which is recorded here in Joey’s own more rocking version.
“Rough Ride To Paradise” was written by ex-Europe guitarist Kee Marcello and it nicely rounds up the album.

All that has been carefully mixed by Summer and experienced Brazilian Daniel Lamas (also performing keyboards).
But well worth to mention as well is Joey Summer’s own penned tracks. He’s inspired by the Scandinavian melodic rock golden era, showcasing some ’80s American touches as well.
Joey’s skills can be witnessed on his always catchy, arena rock-ready tracks like the bombastic rockin’ opener “Rise Up”, the anthemic title track “Written On The Horizon”, and the extremely catchy “Lorea”.

“Beating” is more midtempo paced celebrating the classic AOR style of the ’80s, while the proper quieter moments are covered by the power ballads “It’s Only Your Love” and “I’ll Never Be Alone Again”.

“Written On The Horizon” is classy stuff in the Scandi vein, quite elegant and catchy yet rocking at the same time.
All songs are solid, Joey knows how to craft a good tune, and the songwriting contributions from Edman, Bergh, Bormann and Kee Marcello sets the bar even higher. The record is very well performed, and nicely produced.
Highly Recommended

01 – Rise Up (Joey Summer / Daniel Lamas)
02 – Anymore (Michael Bormann) *
03 – Written On The Horizon (Joey Summer)
04 – Don’t Believe (Fredrik Bergh / Goran Edman) #
05 – It’s Only Your Love (Joey Summer)
06 – Lorea (Joey Summer)
07 – I’ll Never Be Alone Again (Joey Summer)
08 – Tables Turning (Fredrik Bergh / Goran Edman) #
09 – Beating (Joey Summer / Daniel Lamas)
10 – Rough Ride To Paradise (Kee Marcello) +

# originally recorded by Street Talk
* originally recorded by Jaded Heart
+ originally recorded by Kee Marcello

Joey Summer : vocals, guitar
Daniel Lamas : keyboards, backing vocals
Markcell : bass
Renan Martins : drums
guest musicians:
Goran Edman : backing vocals on ‘Don’t Believe’
Fredrik Bergh (Street Talk) : keyboards on ‘Don’t Believe’
Julio Cezar (Cathedral) : bass on ‘Don’t Believe’
Michael Muller (Jaded Heart) : bass on ‘Anymore’


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.