FIRST SIGNAL – Line Of Fire [Japan Edition +1] (2019) *EXCLUSIVE*

FIRST SIGNAL - Line Of Fire [Japan Edition +1] (2019) *EXCLUSIVE* full

After two critical and fan acclaimed albums, FIRST SIGNAL are returning with a new studio album, “Line Of Fire” via Frontiers Music next May 17. This is the Japanese edition including a bonus track, premiered in exclusive for you by 0dayrox.

In 2010, a marriage in made in melodic rock heaven was consummated between Canadian rock vocalist Harry Hess (Harem Scarem) and German producer Dennis Ward (Pink Cream 69, Khymera) under the First Signal name.
The seeds of this union were planted that same year when Frontiers Records presented Hess some melodic rock songs which had the same vibe and magic as Harem Scarem, whom at the time were on a hiatus.

The debut album was greeted with high interest and excellent reviews from the Melodic Rock faithful, so even when Harem Scarem rebooted to record an excellent comeback album, “Thirteen”, Hess was still keen to record some more excellent melodic rock songs that he had gathered from various songwriters under the First Signal banner.

So, the idea of another First Signal album continued to float around and with the help of Swedish producer Daniel Flores (FIND ME, THE MURDER OF MY SWEET, etc.), the second record started to take shape.
Once again, the inspiration behind the songs were the first two Harem Scarem albums, both absolute Melodic Rock classics, but, as with the debut, some new twists were thrown in with songs covering everything from AOR to Arena Hard Rock.

The second album was also greeted with much excitement from the Melodic / AOR fanbase, especially in Europe. With that kind of reception, recording a third album was a no-brainer.
With songs provided by Hess himself, Stan Meissner, Henrik Hedström, Lars Edvall, Anderz Wrethov, Andreas Johansson, Carl Dixon, Bruce Turgon, Sören Kronqvist, Morgan Jensen, Hal Marabel, Daniel Palmqvist, Ulrick Lönnqvist, Nigel Bailey, and production duties handled again by Daniel Flores, “Line of Fire” is another awesome slab of great AOR / melodic rock for the 21st century.

‘Born To Be A Rebel’ should be one of the best songs First Signal ever recorded, pure melodic rock with driven melodious guitars, synth atmospheres, soaring vocals, and a killer chorus.
Another absolute winner for me is the awesome ‘Walk Through The Fire’, written by Carl Dixon (Coney Hatch), a monster ’80s melodic hard rocker with a rhythm to die for.

And it’s perhaps title track ‘Line Of Fire’ which better represents First Signal and this album; a mix of succulent melodic rock riffs, AOR accessibility, and top class vocals.
For Harem Scarem-like tunes check superb midtempo ‘Here With You’, and for ballads the really strong ‘The Last Of My Broken Hearts’ does the trick.

Worth to mention is the Japanese bonus track, ‘The Last Of My Broken Hearts (Acoustic)’, which is completely different, slower and atmospheric, just Hess, piano & synths, and it’s wonderful.
You can’t go wrong with this superb vocalist, the song selection is stupendous – the best of the 3 First Signal albums – and production bright, vibrant.

only at 0dayrox


Marquee / Avalon Japan 【MICP-11482】
F I R S T   S  I G N A L

01 – Born To Be A Rebel
02 – A Million Miles
03 – The Last Of My Broken Hearts
04 – Tonight We Are The Only
05 – Walk Through The Fire
06 – Never Look Back Again
07 – Line Of Fire
08 – Here With You
09 – Need You Now
10 – Falling
11 – The End Of The World
12 – The Last Of My Broken Hearts (Acoustic Piano)

Harry Hess – Vocals
Daniel Flores – Drums, Keyboards
Michael Palace – Guitars
Johan Niemann – Bass



You may also like...

1 Response

  1. Viking says:

    This is amazing…fantastic record from Harry Hess and co….

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.