SNAKECHARMER – Snakecharmer [Japan +1] + Euro Bonus

SNAKECHARMER - Snakecharmer [Japanese Edition] full

Some people (and primarily musicians) hate the term ‘Super-Group’, but there’s no other word coined to define SNAKECHARMER. Centered around classic-era Whitesnake members Micky Moody and Neil Murray, Snakecharmer also features Harry James (Thunder, Magnum), Laurie Wisefield (Wishbone Ash) and Adam Wakeman (Ozzy, Black Sabbath), with vocals being handled by former Heartland and Virginia Wolf vocalist Chris Ousey.
The combo first, self-titled album is fantastic slice of classy stuff, in this Japanese Edition featuring an exclusive bonus track, but the European release also included an exclusive cut as well, both included here.

With Moody and Murray’s Whitesnake connections, the band initially toured as Monsters Of British Rock, wisely ditching that name for the much improved Snakecharmer, and were initially largely a Whitesnake tribute act knocking out all the best tunes from the original, and best, Whitesnake era before Coverdale shed that classic band in favour of big hair and glossy Americanized production.

Snakecharmer inevitably ended recording an album, this self-titled, and let me tell you this isn’t a ‘tribute-like’ / ‘copy-cat’ kind: this is a terrific, awesome Classic Hard Rock album full of magic and personality.

SNAKECHARMER - Snakecharmer [Japanese Edition] booklet

Of course you have an ol’ Whitesnake vibe to some of the tunes here, and that’s a good thing when you play bluesy Hard with this class.
Sure enough you could imagine Coverdale belting out the likes of “Turn Of The Screw”, “Guilty As Charged”, “Nothing To Lose” and especially the impressive “Smoking Gun”.

It’s not all a ‘snake fest though. Chris Ousey’s vocal style lends itself particularly well to hard AOR, Foreigner-esque tracks like “Accident Prone” and the AOR-tastic “Stand Up”.
The power ballad “Falling Leaves” has that early ’80 mysterious atmosphere, and with “To The Rescue” the band goes for a Bad Company style bluesy boogie with charm, same in the the excellent “A Little Rock and Roll”, one of the album’s real highlights.
Another great moment is heard in the opening cut “My Angel”, combining some vintage Aerosmith guitars with a terrific melodic background instrumentation and jumpin’ vocals.

SNAKECHARMER - Snakecharmer [Japanese Edition] back

Snakecharmer’s self-titled debut is a Winner, in all aspects.
Hard rockin’ blues, Classic Rock and harder melodious edged AOR fans rejoice; this is classy stuff to enjoy over and over again.
HIGHLY Recommended


01. My Angel
02. Accident Prone
03. To The Rescue
04. Falling Leaves
05. A Little Rock & Roll
06. Turn Of The Screw
07. Smoking Gun
08. Stand Up
09. Guilty As Charged
10. Nothing To Lose
11. Cover Me In You
12. A Breath Away (Japanese Bonus Track)
12. White Boy Blues (European Bonus Track)

Chris Ousey – lead and backing vocals
Micky Moody – guitar, slide guitar, vocals
Laurie Wisefield – guitar, vocals
Adam Wakeman – keyboards, vocals
Neil Murray – bass, vocals
Harry James – drums, vocals



You may also like...

2 Responses

  1. Anonymous says:

    Please repair this link. Thank you

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.