LOVERBOY – Wildside [Remastered / Sony Special Product]

LOVERBOY - Wildside [Remastered / Sony Special Product] full

As requested by many, here’s the rare, pretty hard to find only remaster available of Canadians LOVERBOY album “Wildside”, the band’s last studio record from their glorious ’80s era.
For album number five “Wildside” the talented duo Bruce Fairbairn / Bob Rock are back to produce and provide a commercial, AOR / melodic rock sheen according to times (1987).

Song-wise, the record should be the more ‘mature’ Loverboy album, yet plenty of catchiness. The songs are mostly written / co-written by Dean & Reno, but there’s few outside contributors such as the vigorous lead off track ‘Notorious’ (co-penned by Jon Bon Jovi / Richie Sambora) and the cool ‘Hometown Hero’ (Bryan Adams).

In a true Loverboy fashion, throughout there is a nice combination of guitar and keyboard work from Dean and keyboardist Doug Johnson, especially remarkable on ‘Walkin’ On Fire’ and ‘Love Will Rise Again’, both delicious 80s AOR tunes.
Scott Smith’s bass guitar playing is also noticeable like never before creating a more ‘pumping’ output typical from the era. Just check ‘Break It To Me Gently’, a song also displaying a sprightly chorus.

The really strong ‘Read My Lips’ exhibits a gratifying intro, and I also enjoy how Dean’s guitar solo starts off menacingly while at the song’s conclusion you’ll be impressed with the skillful, rapid-fire drumming from Matthew Frenette.

‘Can’t Get Much Better’ is another highlight, a midtempo anthem with a true ’80s AOR spirit, and I always loved album closer ‘Don’t Keep Me In The Dark’, a fantastic power ballad in the way only Loverboy can make it. One of my favorites from the band ever.

“Wildside” is the more, pure Eighties AOR Loverboy album in history with a polished production, ‘that’ sound and some of the strongest tracks of their career. For many, especially rabid AOR fans, this is their best effort.
This is a Nineties remaster (the only as far I know) released via Sony Special Product series back in the day, and the sound is really, really good with a bright output. It’s out of print of course, but you can try for an used copy.
A must in your ’80s AOR collection.

You’ve seen it first here, at 0dayrox


01 – Notorious
02 – Walkin’ On Fire
03 – Break It To Me Gently
04 – Love Will Rise Again
05 – Can’t Get Much Better
06 – Hometown Hero
07 – Wildside
08 – Don’t Let Go
09 – That’s Where My Money Goes
10 – Read My Lips
11 – Don’t Keep Me In The Dark

Mike Reno – lead vocals
Paul Dean – guitar, backing vocals
Doug Johnson – keyboards
Scott Smith – bass
Matt Frenette – drums


Try Here

You may also like...

1 Response

  1. Jon Kennedy says:

    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.