ROB MORATTI – Victory (2011)

ROB MORATTI - Victory (2011) full

Since his earliest days with his self titled band MORATTI, on through his work with PHENOMENA, and as well his guest vocals on Tor Talle’s astounding 2005 project Northern Light, his tenure with FINAL FRONTIER and SAGA’s 2009 ‘Human Condition’, ROB MORATTI has indeed proved himself time and again as one of the great voices of melodic rock.
While it’s his voice the focal point of “Victory“, note must be given to what is one amazing group of guest musicians: Reb Beach (Winger, Dokken, Whitesnake,) Fredrik Berg (Street Talk, Bloodhound,) Tony Franklin (Quiet Riot, Blue Murder, The Firm) and Brian Doemer (Helix, Saga).

With a sound firmly planted into classic AOR, “Victory” opens with what could have been found on any Final Frontiers release; “Life on the Line”, complete with subtle guitar riffs winding their way around the track. Reb Beach proves why he is one of the rock world’s finest guitarists, with solos laying a delectable showing just under the blanket of power chords.
Listen as well to the perfect mid tempo “Life Time”, the prog-ish “Power of Love”, the rocking, head nodding “On and On”, the grandiose keyboards of “Hold That Light”, the gentle “Take It All Back”, and with a sound that will remind one of Work of Art or Northern Light; the ballad “I Promise You.”

Wonderful as well are the incredible drums of “Standing On Top of the World”, where Moratti’s voice reaches into the upper octaves, and closing this fantastic release is the piano and lush guitars of “Now More Than Ever.”
Moratti seems to have a vocal style that has indeed remained as strong as ever. While age is indeed little more than a number, it has been proven that there are certain vocalists that unfortunately time catches up with and their voice becomes not as strong as it once was.
On the complete other sides of the gamut are vocalists who seem to defy such a notion and stay as remarkable as ever – age be damned. Moratti is such a singer.

The sound quality on “Victory” is flawless, the musicianship as perfect as one could hope for and overall the sound flows easily from one track to the next.
Pleasing on the ears, it is indeed tangible that Rob Moratti poured out his heart and soul on this release, and the end result is exquisite.
The musicians play off each other extremely well, knowing their instruments and using them to accentuate certain passages and emotions.

Songwriting was seemingly done with care, taking into consideration when to bring into focus a guitar, a keyboard or drum roll and when to pull back.
The sentiment heard throughout is solid and real, and as has been said so many times, if the listener can feel of those feelings that the songwriter is trying to express, the result will be a compilation that a listener will want to come back to time and again. This is one of those times.

Rob Moratti, with this release, established himself as one of the great ones in every way possible, showcasing his talent as a lyricist, musician and vocalist.
“Victory” is truly an unbelievable CD, one that make it into many top ten lists for 2011.


01. Life On The Line
02. Everything But Goodbye
03. Life Time
04. Power of Love
05. Hold That Light
06. On and On
07. Take It All Back
08. I Promise You
09. Standing On Top of the World
10. Jeannie
11. Now More Than Ever

Rob Moratti – vocals
Reb Beach – guitars
Tony Franklin – bass
Fredrik Berg – keyboards
Christian Wolff – guitars/keyboards
Brian Doemer – drums



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.