SHEER GREED (ex Girl, feat Phil Collen) – Sublime To The Ridiculous [Japan Edition]

SHEER GREED (ex Girl, feat Phil Collen) - Sublime To The Ridiculous [Japan Edition] full

As requested, here’s ”Sublime To The Ridiculous‘, the only studio album released by SHEER GREED, a short-lived British hard rock band formed in 1992 by former Girl members Gerry Laffy, Simon Laffy and Pete Barnacle. The band was named after the GIRL album Sheer Greed.
Recorded at DEF LEPPARD frontman Joe Elliott’s house/studio in Dublin and engineered by the band’s house engineer Pete Woodroffe, the album’s executive producer was Def Lepp Phil Collen, who also contributed several guitar solos and vocals.
”Sublime To The Ridiculous” was made exactly 10 years after GIRL split up and has been the nearest thing that will (likely) ever be to a reunion.

There’s a guest appearance from LA GUNS’ Philip Lewis on vocals as well on ‘Everybody Wants’, who also co-wrote the song. Track #12 (Hollywood Tease ’92) was originaly recorded in 1980 by GIRL on their album named “Sheer Greed”. This song was also covered by L.A. GUNS in 1988.

As you may expect, ”Sublime To The Ridiculous” sounds a lot like GIRL circa 1982, and a dash of DEF LEPPARD too, plus a British 80s rock&pop feeling.
The album was only released in Asia – not only Japan – which results pretty weird as SHEER GREED performed a lot of gigs in Great Britain, and even a live album album was released the following year.
Never reissued, ‘Sublime To The Ridiculous” is very hard to find, out of print.


01 – First To Admit
02 – Everybody Wants
03 – Blue Favours
04 – War Baby
05 – No Way Out
06 – Let Me Down Gently
07 – Rita’s Dirty Hideaway
08 – I Ain’t Afraid
09 – Dying Inside
10 – No Fun
11 – Baby Gets Kix
12 – Hollywood Tease ’92

Gerry Laffy – lead vocals, guitar
Simon Laffy – bass
Pete Barnacle – drums

Guest musicians:
Phil Lewis – vocals on track 2
Phil Collen – backing vocals and guitar on track 2, solos tracks 4, 8, 12


Out of print

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.