GOWAN – Return Of The Strange Animal [24-Bit Remastered]

GOWAN Return Of The Strange Animal - remastered

Lawrence GOWAN is a Canada-based musician, but few people know that he is a Glasgow, Scotland native. His second, 1985’s album ‘Strange Animal’ was recorded in England at the studio where John Lennon made his ‘Imagine’ album. Produced by British David Tickle (Prince, U2) and featuring a more ‘theatrical’ Gowan, this album was his commercial breakthrough in Canada.
Celebrating the record 25th Anniversary, “Return Of The Strange Animal” is a remastered version of the original ’85s ‘Strange Animal’ plus a bonus footage DVD.

Backed by Peter Gabriel’s rhythm section players Tony Levin and Jerry Marotta, all these songs still sound fresh today, with that kind of Eighties ‘atmosphere’ which is impossible to recreate again.
The album spawned the hit singles “A Criminal Mind”, “(You’re a) Strange Animal”, “Guerilla Soldier” and “Cosmetics”.

Basically a keyboard player, Gowan wrote this stuff on piano, and all tracks are focused to the massive use of synthesizers, electric piano and (then ‘the’ new toy) fairlight.
Remarkable is the job of Tony Levin (King Crimson, Peter Gabriel) on bass and particularly the ‘stick’, that rare instrument.

“Return Of The Strange Animal” is catchy and pretty straightforward Rock&Pop in its essence, but has uncommon arrangements and creative twists, sounding very different compared to the other music that other ’80s bands were releasing at the time.
Smartly written and flawlessly produced, Gowan seems to effortlessly take the listener on a ride that he or she will want to take again and again.
A must have for any ’80s music fan.


01 – Cosmetics
02 – Desperate
03 – City Of The Angels
04 – Walking On Air
05 – Burning Torches Of Hope
06 – Keep The Tension On
07 – Guerilla Soldier
08 – (You’re A) Strange Animal
09 – A Criminal Mind

Larry Gowan : vocals, piano, Fairlight CMI, synths
Chris Jarret : guitar
David Rhodes : guitar
Tony Levin : bass, stick
Jerry Marotta : drums & percussion
David Tickle : production, programming



You may also like...

1 Response

  1. Anonymous says:

    Love the site and the ability to listen to an entire album before deciding on ordering it. Keep up the great work! THANKS!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.