KNOCK OUT KAINE – House Of Sins [the first album]

KNOCK OUT KAINE - House Of Sins (2012)

Voted best unsigned act of 2008 by Kerrang! and after two good EP’s, Midlands, UK young Hard Rock four piece KNOCK OUT KAINE got signed and their full length debut “House Of Sins” was the result.
Since formed Knock Out Kaine have forged a chemistry way beyond their age, which only truly great bands are able to accomplish. By no means X-Factor style ‘overnight successes’, they have been working their craft hard since their conception in 2005.
“House Of Sins” is an explosive album. Combining all the hard rock sleazy of Motley Crue, Guns or the first L.A.  Guns and the awesomeness of Cinderella, Slaughter and White Lion with some melodic rock overtones into a punchy package.

Dean Foxx has one of those voices coming out straight-off Sunset Blvd, rough but by no means cheap. The guy has an obviously educated throat, as he clearly display a wide range of modulations, always in perfect pitch.
The rhythm section has the exact cadence for this kind of rock, but who really shines is guitarist Jimmy Bohemian, a complete six-string axeman both on electrics or acoustics. His guitar style / tone is awesomely ’80s, reminding you Cinderella’s Jeff LaBar and Vitto Bratta of White Lion.

The first thing that impress you is the stupendous musicianship delivered by the band, were all the instrumentation sound tight and shiny. Although the material is mostly sweaty late ’80s American hard rock oriented, the sound is polished and melodic, but with all the necessary sharpness to rock you hard.
Honestly, I can’t find a weak track on “House Of Sins”.

You can’t resist to the thunderous drum beat of “Set The Night On Fire”, a genuine rocker with crankin’ guitars and head bangin’ rhythm. Couple that with a great hook and you got the kind of track that makes you sit up and take notice.
Title track “House Of Sins” is a thrilling hard rocker with a fantastic riff in the style of Motley’s ‘Kickstart My Heart’, a kickin’ track complete with cowbell.
The riff of the catchy “Liquor Up” is absolutely early eighties Van Halen, same in the tongue-in-cheek “Skinstar” wich features a very melodic chorus.

“Little Crystal” is the band’s at its sleaziest. A chugging riff and an unsteady drum beat are the main ingredients while lyrically it tells the tale of a little girl who went off the tracks.
All songs are catchy and instant, but “Goin’ Down” (She Goes)” is the highlight amongst all these catchiness. A track whose foot tapping rhythm and infectious chorus make it tailor made to be played live. A winner.
Cinderella come to mind in the uptempo but acoustically layered “Backstreet Romeo”, a track that 25 years ago have been a MTV hit.

Knock Out Kaine also has a melodic rock side. The midtempo “Moving On” has melodius line with some kind of angelic background vocals and nice atmosphere.
On the sensual “Time”, the foursome explore their bluesy roots. The vocals of mister Foxx on this particular track hold the middle between actual singing and talking and this works just perfect.
And then we have another tune predestined to be a hit. The emotionally charged “Coming Home” is a lighters in the air power ballad like we used to have plenty of back in the ’80s. It’s presented in a long 6:21 album version and a shorten Radio Edit take.

This CD easily could be titled ‘Time Machine’, as the music encapsulated in these twelve tunes are a fantastic rendition to ’80s American Hard Rock, both in sound and attitude.
“House Of Sins” sounds as is the members of Knock Out Kaine have melted all their parents’ vinyls, liquefied them and diluted with a plenty dose of Jack Daniels.
The songs move relentlessly forward, with catchiness and bite, very well produced and executed. Each member puts in a flashy performance on this recording and I think the band can be proud of their efforts in this debut.
Highly Recommended


01 – The Welcome
02 – House Of Sins
03 – Liquor Up
04 – Little Crystal
05 – Set The Night On Fire
06 – Backstreet Romeo
07 – Skinstar
08 – Coming Home
09 – Going Down (She Goes)
10 – Time
11 – Save Me
12 – Moving On
13 – Coming Home (Radio Edit) [Bonus]

Dean Foxx (vocals)
Jimmy Bohemian (guitar, backing vocals)
Lee Byrne (bass, backing vocals)
Danny Krash (drums, backing vocals)



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.