THE BOMBERS – Aim High [Bad Reputation remaster +3] (2020)

THE BOMBERS - Aim High [Bad Reputation remaster +3] (2020) full

As requested, here’s THE BOMBERS hard rocking album ”Aim High” recently remastered by Bad Reputation Records specialists including 3 bonus tracks. A supergroup formed by Alan Lancaster & John Coghlan from Status Quo, and John Brewster of The Angels, “Aim High” was released by a A&M in 1990, so expect that huge major label production and melodic hard rock goodness.
The Australian answer to Damn Yankees, Y&T, Thunder, Night Ranger, Hurricane, etc – at the end of the ’80s this Sydney based hard rock band were on the cusp of success, formed by reputed musicians and with a big label behind them.

For The Bombers domination of the rock world seemed to be only a matter of time. Some big names in this pack names can mean zilch in the music biz. And prove it they did. Early supports with Cheap Trick back in late ’88 started things rolling.
The band inked a deal with US label A&M records, released a terrific debut album in Aim High in April 1990, had a couple of supports with international artists including Alice Cooper and Skid Row, had some media support and played the circuit constantly… yet as history has shown, they didn’t break wide open, and the success never came.
A shame, as this album simply kills.

First single ‘Running In The Shadows’ kicks things off with a bang, followed on by title track ‘Aim High’. Tyrone’s soaring vocals at the end of this song leave me in no doubt what at a strong vocalist he is (you don’t win WA’s best male vocalist two years running if you ain’t got the goods). Third song ‘Escape’ rocks, written for the arenas and loses none of it’s power on record.
Highlights are many – the pretty Damn Yankees-like second single ‘World’s On Fire’ coulda been a smash, as could’ve their third release ‘Flash In Japan’, different, midtempo classic rock.
Another fav is ‘She’s A Mystery’, a catchy melodic rocker driven by Lancaster’s pumping bass lines and with a cool guitar work on it.

”Aim High” is littered with uncompromising, catchy, heavy duty hard rock n’ roll polished according to the era, yet different from your typical melodic hard rock act.
Quite unknown and criminally unheard by many, ”Aim High” is terrific, and this remastered reissue – including as bonus a rare standalone single – is really welcomed.
Highly Recommended


01 – Running In The Shadows
02 – Aim High
03 – Escape
04 – Crime Investigator
05 – No Danger
06 – World’s On Fire
07 – Is This The Way To Say Goodbye?
08 – She’s A Mystery
09 – Flash In Japan
10 – City Out Of Control
11 – Small Talk
12 – Get Up And Get It On [Bonus Track]
13 – Don’t Come Easy [Bonus Track]
14 – Crime Investigator (Live) [Bonus Track]

Tyrone Coates – vocals
John Brewster – guitar, harmonica, backing vocals
Steve Crofts – guitar
Alan Lancaster – bass, backing vocals
Peter Heckenberg – drums, percussion



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.