D.C. LACROIX – From D.C. Lacroy to D.C. Lacroix (2019)

D.C. LACROIX - From D.C. Lacroy to D.C. Lacroix (2019) full

Led by powerful singer Sylvie Lacroix, D.C. LACROIX was some kind of pioneer of the US female fronted metal / hard rock scene, and while the band never surpassed the underground status, they recorded some good stuff in this genre.
Now, this just released compilation entitled From D.C. Lacroy to D.C. Lacroix covers the first era of the band, with material when they were called DC Lacroy, their complete ‘Crack of Doom’ album remastered, along with previously unreleased demos, early pre-DCL band projects, and more.

D.C. LACROIX was the musical entity conjured up by Dan Christopherson (aka DC) and Sylvie Lacroix. They met in Seattle Washington in the early ’80s when a band Sylvie was in (The Jetzenz) was looking for a lead guitarist.
The two immediately started writing songs together and soon learned they shared a similar vision which pulled them away from The Jetzenz to start their own band DC Lacroix in 1983.

They pooled their resources together enough to record 7 songs which they released on their own as an EP late 1983. Worried that people would not be able to pronounce Lacroix they named the album DC LACROY – Call it What You Like, titled as such due to the various musical styles on the record.
The Bass and Drums were provided by twins Bill and Bob Burns who at the time were in a band with Meredith Brooks who would later (much later) hit the charts with hit song Bitch.
Sylvie and Meredith became fast friends as there were not many female guitarist of the time to trade notes with.

In 1984 they recorded a 4 song demo shifting their musical style into the hard rock / metal realm. Once they started circulating the demo they were approached by Renaissance Records to appear on the ‘Lady Killers’ album, soon followed by ‘Pacific Northwest Metal Meltdown Vol I’.
The music scene in Seattle at the time was not accommodating to hard rock / metal. Venues were limited, therefore Dan and Sylvie started making plans to move to Los Angeles.

Early 1985 they were approached by Black Dragon records in Paris, France who somehow got their hands on their 5 song Demo some of which would later be included on ‘Crack Of Doom’.
In LA, Dan and Sylvie found drummer Marty Temme and bassist Ed Walker through an ad in the now defunct Penny Saver. They immediately began the finishing touches on what was soon to be ‘Crack Of Doom’.

Th LP was released in 1986, mostly distributed in Europe distribution. D.C. Lacroix started playing any and every club on the Sunset Strip and San Fernando Valley to get USA attention.
KNAC highlighted their song ‘Rip it Up’ on its rising local band show which in turn secured them a slot on the stage for the 1986 Los Angeles Street Scene Festival playing a couple of hours prior to Guns n’ Roses. In that same year Vicki Hamilton threw the band a couple of good shout outs that helped secure gigs at the Troubadour attracting attention from Gina Barsamian who was instrumental in booking many high profile bands of the ’80s.

By mid 1987, D.C. Lacroix had signed a one album deal with Enigma Records on one of their subsidiary labels, Medusa. The album was ‘Living By The Sword’, released at the beginning of 1988. Enigma also took on the USA distribution for ‘Crack Of Doom’.
Upon release the band did a lot of magazine, fanzine and radio interviews and received positive feedback from record stores across the country. The ball was starting to roll the next step was to tour and that’s when the ball stopped bouncing.

But the A&R rep that signed D.C. Lacroix had moved to NY for a new career at Atlantic Records, which left no one at Medusa Records to support the next step in band’s future. Also, unbeknownst to the band Enigma was in the process of closing their doors and selling their catalog to Capital Records.
Without an A&R rep to speak for DCL they were left in the proverbial dust while Poison, Flaming Lips and Smithereens garnished all the attention.

At the close of 1988 D.C. Lacroix was left without a record deal and subsequently Marty and Ed decided to move on. The band tried a different approach by hiring a male singer (Joe Dansereau) and through the grapevine a bass player from Pittsburg Bill Covert uprooted and moved to LA to join.
Another line up was completed.
This line up did not release a record but recorded several songs under the direction of award winning music producer Barry Fasman. D.C. Lacroix once again hit the local clubs to rustle up some excitement and embarked on a few choice gigs one of which was opening up for Blue Oyster Cult.

Mid 1989 D.C. Lacroix was contacted by Capital Records to do a private showcase. Capital passed the band continued to shop for a deal and showcase then broke up for the final time early 1990.
However, through the efforts of Barry Fasman two songs from new D.C. Lacroix line up, ‘Bad Luck’ and ‘Do you Wanna Rock’ were used in the 1991 movie ‘Rich Girl’.

“From D.C. Lacroy to D.C. Lacroix” compiles all the band’s era during the ’80s, a very cool and rocking slice of US female fronted metal / hard rock.
Highly Recommended


01 – Rip It Up
02 – Burn The Bridge
03 – Black Leather Monster
04 – Day Of 2 Suns
05 – Prelude
06 – Black Sunday
07 – Devil’s Son
08 – Tomorrow Never Came
09 – Shooting From The Hip
10 – We Are The Force
11 – Crack Of Doom
12 – Call It
13 – Echos in Space
14 – One Kiss
15 – Sweet Talking Man
16 – Up In Lights
17 – Notice Me
18 – Would You Tell Me
19 – Fantasy Man
20 – Little Blue Dragon
21 – Looking For Patterns
22 – Wont Give Into Love
23 – When The Lights Go Out…It’s Heaven
24 – Bad Luck
25 – Do You Wanna Rock

Sylvie Lacroix – Lead Vocals, Rhythm Guitar
Dan “D.C.” Christopherson – Lead Guitar
Ed Walker, Bill Covert, Dave Sale – Bass
Marty Temme, Jeffrey Urbach, Rick Reed – Drums
Joe Dansereau – Lead Vocals (Tracks 23-25)



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.