JAMES ‘JY’ YOUNG (Styx) – Out On A Day Pass (1988) CD version

JAMES 'JY' YOUNG (Styx) - Out On A Day Pass (1988) full

As requested, here’s Styx guitarist / founder JAMES ‘JY’ YOUNG second solo album “Out On A Day Pass“, from 1988. After collaborating with brilliant instrumentalist & producer Jan Hammer (Neal Schon, Miami Vice), JY felt he finally was ready for the total responsibility of not only arranging & performing his music, but producing it as well.
According to JY, the title “Out On A Day Pass” symbolizes the creative vacation he was having apart from Styx. It’s a quite different album, in sound & style. Young plays all guitars and most of the keyboards on the LP, and is credited with virtually all of the vocals as well.
Musically “Out On A Day Pass” mix late Seventies US arena rock with ’80s melodic hard rock, driven by catchy riffs and melodies.

The LP was recorded during breaks in the Styx schedule in a number of different studios (including J.Y.’s home studio), featuring performances by Utopia drummer Willie Wilcox, and former Whitesnake, Jan Hammer and Mick Jagger bassist Colin Hodgkinson. Styx drummer John Panozzo plays on two tracks, and original Mahavishnu Orchestra violinist Jerry Goodman lends his virtuosity to the remake of “Young Man”, a Styx song from an early, lesser-known album.
This CD version is not easy to find, out of print since many years.


01 – Top Of The World
02 – Maggie
03 – Toys For American Boys
04 – Dark Side The Contrary Nature Of Man
05 – Out On A Day Pass
06 – Love Me Tonight
07 – Doctor On Call
08 – Young Man
09 – The Bigger They Are The Harder They Fall

Vocals, Guitar, Keyboards – James Young
Bass – Colin Hodgkinson, Rick Young
Drums – John Panozzo, Willie Wilcox
Keyboards – John Bezjian (tracks 1,3,5)
Violin – Jerry Goodman


out of print

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.