TORA TORA – Surprise Attack [Japan HR-HM 1000 Vol.4 series] (2022)

TORA TORA - Surprise Attack [Japan HR-HM 1000 Vol.4 series] (2022) full

Universal Music Japan has started this year another campaign of their ‘HR/HM 1000‘ series, that meaning the reissue of long time out of print albums from their Hard Rock / Heavy Metal catalog at the price of 1000 Yen = about 9,5 USD.
As part of the 2022 HR-HM 1000 Vol.4 series it was reissued “Surprise Attack“, 1989’s TORA TORA debut album. Formed 1985 in Memphis, TN, the band appeared in a local Battle of the Bands contest and won. This led them to their first chance at studio time. Gig and new demos ended on the hands of A&M and signed TORA TORA in 1987.
TORA TORA indeed ‘surprised’ with “Surprise Attack”, a bluesy hard rocking LP musically pretty different from the hair metal of the era, a style which would became a staple in US rock between 1990-1991. A kick ass collection of rockers, even the midtempo / semi-ballads rock hard.
Highly Recommended


H R / H M 1000 SERIES

01 – Love’s A Bitch
02 – 28 Days
03 – Hard Times
04 – Guilty
05 – Phantom Rider
06 – Walkin’ Shoes
07 – Riverside Drive
08 – She’s Good She’s Bad
09 – One For The Road
10 – Being There

Anthony Corder – vocals
Keith Douglas – guitars
Patrick Francis – bass
John Patterson – drums



You may also like...

1 Response

  1. jayman says:

    Cool! Thanks, Always liked this band. Any word on the Badlands broken links

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.