GEORGIA SATELLITES – Lightnin’ In A Bottle; The Official Live Album (2022)

GEORGIA SATELLITES - Lightnin' In A Bottle; The Official Live Album (2022) full

Today, a rare GEORGIA SATELLITES concert album is finally getting released; “Lightnin’ In A Bottle; The Official Live Album” captures the preeminent bar band onstage in Cleveland in 1988, a year after their ubiquitous hit “Keep Your Hands to Yourself”.
The GEORGIA SATELLITES are captured in all their prime rock & roll glory on this previously unreleased live recording which chronicles an 18-song set at the Cleveland Club Peabody’s in 1988, a few months after the release of the Atlanta band’s second album ‘Open All Night’ and a year after the widespread radio success of their Number 2 hit “Keep Your Hands to Yourself.”
The setlist includes a mix of songs off the Satellites’ 1986 debut and 1988’s ‘Open All Night’, along with a number of covers, like the Ramones’ “I Wanna Be Sedated,” George Jones’ “White Lightnin’,” and more. The band’s version of “Hippy Hippy Shake,” which appeared on the soundtrack to Tom Cruise’s 1988 movie ‘Cocktail’, also pops up.

Made up of singer-guitarist Dan Baird, guitarist Rick Richards, bassist Rick Price, and drummer Mauro Magellan, the Georgia Satellites released three albums in the latter half of the Eighties, but none matched the success of their self-titled debut. That album, of course, had the success of “Keep Your Hands to Yourself,” which appealed rock radio.

The Satellites play all their hits here, like “Battleship Chains,” “Railroad Steel” and “Can’t Stand The Pain,” while they led the crowd through a shout-along of “Keep Your Hands To Yourself” threaded with a brazen stripper grind on the Rolling Stones’ “It’s Only Rock & Roll.”

Fans of reverb, thrashing drums, the rush of rock & roll momentum and all manners of electric guitars giving it over to classic rock & roll riffs, ”Lightnin’ in a Bottle” retires the jersey.
The GEORGIA SATELLITES never had an official live record, and finally this recording makes them justice.
Highly Recommended


01 – Whole Lotta Shakin’ (Live)
02 – Down and Down (Live)
03 – Run Run Rudolph (Live)
04 – Open All Night (Live)
05 – Don’t Pass Me By (Live)
06 – Nights of Mystery (Live)
07 – Battleship Chains (Live)
08 – Mon Cheri (Live)
09 – White Lightnin’ (Live)
10 – I Go to Pieces (Live)
11 – Shake Your Hips (Live)
12 – Games People Play (Live)
13 – Can’t Stand the Pain (Live)
14 – Keep Your Hands to Yourself / It’s Only Rock ‘n’ Roll (Live)
15 – Sheila (Live)
16 – Hippy Hippy Shake (Live)
17 – Railroad Steel (Live)
18 – I Wanna Be Sedated / Shake Rattle & Roll (Live)

Lead vocals, guitar – Dan Baird
Guitar – Rick Richards
Bass, backing vocals – Rick Price
Drums – Mauro Magellan



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.