ANGELES – Running Like An Outlaw (2022)

ANGELES - Running Like An Outlaw (2022) full

Cult Los Angeles hard rockers ANGELES are back with a new album – “Running Like An Outlaw” – and a new line-up consisting of founder and lead guitarist Dave Lytle, lead vocalist Mason Oliver, bassist Steven Stiers and drummer Danny Basulto.
The young, new members have injected fresh energy to the band’s classic American hard rock sound, a style they maintain in spades since debuted in the ’80s with gigs at the legendary Troubadour, The Whiskey, The Roxy, etc. On the Sunset Strip in Hollywood California they became one of L.A.’s largest Indie acts of the ’80s.
ANGELES shared stage with the likes of Bon Jovi, Quiet Riot, Mötley Crüe, Ratt, Guns N’ Roses, to Metallica, Ronnie James Dio, and Michael Schenker, and with more than 4 decades in the business they know how to write and perform a good ‘ole rock n’ roll song.

The album – and the party – starts with ‘All Night’ which has a kind of good time 80s rock and roll feel to it. It’s like 1985 again. ‘Nothing But Love’ continues in a similar vein, slightly slower and stripped back. Title track ‘Running like An Outlaw’ is fun all over, with a melodic hard rock structure and some ‘desert’ touch containing a few verses that are just the band whistling!

‘Creatures Of The Night’ picks up the pace a little with a bar room vibe to it then ‘Lords of Thunder’ slows right down again for a melodic rock midtempo melody akin 1988.
‘Witch Hunter’ rocks harder with a speedy hard rockin’ riff, then ‘Magic Touch’ starts as a ballad before going more rock and roll, then final track ‘She’s On Fire’ ends things off with a punchy main riff and nice clean vocals.
Angeles is all about classic American rock, and while production could be better they remain unadulterated style-wise and that’s what matters, delivering a feel-good slice of melodic hard rock.
Highly Recommended


01 – All Night
02 – Nothing but Love
03 – Running Like an Outlaw
04 – Creatures of the Night
05 – Lords of Thunder
06 – Witch Hunter
07 – Magic Touch
08 – She’s on Fire

DALE LYTLE – Founder and Lead Guitar
STEVEN STIERS – Bass and backing vocals


Pre Order:

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.