BEAU COUP – Born & Raised (On Rock N’ Roll) [CD reissue enhanced sound] *0dayrox Exclusive*

BEAU COUP - Born & Raised (On Rock N' Roll) [CD reissue enhanced sound] *0dayrox Exclusive* full

As requested, here’s this American ’80s cult classic album from BEAU COUP titled “Born & Raised (On Rock N’ Roll)“, in its rare CD edition mastered by the band itself when reunited in 2006. Beau Coup is one of the many exciting bands (and solo artists) who will always be fondly remembered within the AOR and pomp-rock minded community, but who outside this sphere have never received the recognition they so richly deserved.
This Ohio based band released a limited edition (1000 copies) 6 track EP back in 1984 – where notable musicians were involved in one way or another, like excellent guitarist Tim Pierce – followed three years later by this full length 9-track album “Born & Raised (On Rock N’ Roll)”.
This is one of the most exquisite indie Melodic Rock / AOR / pop-rock LP’s released in 1987, and the sound quality of this reissue is really good.

Beau Coup was formed around the enigmatic personality of keyboarder Dennis Lewin, formerly of Jonah Koslen & the Heroes. Together with the vocal talents of brothers Frank and Tommy Amato (whose voices are one of a kind and instantly recognizable) he strongly determines the band’s sound, which is more modern than that of their debut EP, though not overtly hi-tech.
They play a highly addictive musical synthesis of fellow AOR greats Cannata, The Innocent and near-namesake Beau Geste, resulting in extremely catchy songs infused with pompous keyboards, beautiful piano parts and sing-along choruses with some of the best vocal harmonies we have ever heard.

The bouncy title track starts things off on the right foot, and it has become some kind of an anthem. “Sweet Rachel” (great chorus !), the moody, mid-paced “Uptown L.A.” and irresistible rocker “Hold on me” are slices of sheer perfect AOR, with a (slight) pop-rock feel reminiscent of bands like The Arrows, Pseudo Echo and Glass Tiger.
And then the gem on this album: “Somewhere Out in the Night”, an unforgettable elegant midtempo AOR melody like only in 1987 was possible to capture.

The music on this record is vivacious and uplifting, this is a feel good album with a crisp production that sparkles and fizzes like a sodapop commercial.
“Born & raised on Rock N Roll” is one of the very best self-released albums of 1987 with a major label arrangements / engineering / production, a memorable recording for any aficionado of good AOR from the era. This CD edition sound million bucks.
Highly Recommended


01 – Born & Raised (On Rock-n-Roll)
02 – Somewhere Out In the Night
03 – Find The Way
04 – Jane
05 – Sweet Rachel
06 – Uptown L.A.
07 – Still In My Heart
08 – Never Stop
09 – Hold On Me

Frank Amato – lead and backing vocals, percussion
Tommy Amato – lead and backing vocals
Dennis Lewin – piano, synths, drums, percussion, backing vocals
Bill March – bass, backing vocals



You may also like...

1 Response

  1. melodified says:

    Perfect sound! Thank you Zero.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.