BLOODY HEELS – Rotten Romance (2022)

BLOODY HEELS - Rotten Romance (2022) full

Hard rockers BLOODY HEELS are back next weekend with “Rotten Romance”, their third album overall, following their Frontiers debut, “Ignite The Sky” (2020).
While the band still shows nods to the great ‘80s hard rock scene in their sound, the new album presents a stylistic leap from the band that is delightfully unexpected and welcome. Not content to be stagnant in their musical approach, Bloody Heels have pushed their sound forward, proving that innovation within the confines of a genre is always possible when the will to push through barriers exists.
“Rotten Romance” will certainly please fans of the band’s previous work, where strains of classic ’80s hard rock were mixed with elements of trad metal (and that is still very much the case here), but touches of melodic prog, goth, and more modern rock are now identifiable in the mix and with particular results.

Vocalist Vicky White’s whisky-soaked sounding throat is in fine form here, while guitarist Harry Rivers, bassist Gunn Everett, and drummer Gus Hawk already superb playing has jumped up multiple levels. Intense, driving parts mix with atmospheric, sometimes dark breakdowns, giving the album’s rhythm an enjoyable variety that works seamlessly.

The musicianship on this album is undeniable, from screeching guitar solos and atmospheric breakdowns to solid vocals. Among the highlights we find “Distant Memory”, “Crows Lullaby” and “Hours of Sinners”, all tracks with a strong and heavy drive with great melodies and choruses that attempt to hook you in.
On “The Velvet” we hear a different Bloody Heels, some kind of an ’80s new-wave-ish tune but heavier guitars and a modern production. “Hour Of Sinners” lends more into modern rock territory, a short, intense rocker driven by an effective riff.

Have Bloody Heels just provided the blueprint for how the class of bands paying respect to ’80s hard rock and metal can actually push the genre into new, exciting, inventive territory?
Only time will be the judge of that, but with “Rotten Romance” these guys have certainly thrown down a gauntlet for their peers to attempt to match.
Highly Recommended


1. Dream Killers
2. Rotten Romance
3. The Velvet
4. Distant Memory
5. Hour Of Sinners
6. Mirror Mirror
7. When The Rain And I Meet
8. Crow’s Lullaby
9. Burning Bridges
10. Angels Crying
11. Oblivion

Valts Berzins (Vicky White) – Vocals
Haralds Avotins (Harry Rivers) – Guitars
Gunars Toms Narbus (Gunn Everett) – Bass
Gus Hawk (Gustavs Vanags) – Drums


Pre Order:

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.