BONE BROKE KINGS – Ruby Sunset (2022)

BONE BROKE KINGS - Ruby Sunset (2022) full

BONE BROKE KINGS are a heavy blues hard rock band based in Doncaster inspired by the greats and with a strong Seventies feeling into their music. After some very well received singles, the five-piece is releasing their debut album titled “Ruby Sunset“.
Songs such as ‘Blow Em’ Out’, ‘Basement Blues’, and ‘Emily Rose’ are driven by energetic guitar riffs , hard hitting drums and ground moving bass, contrasted by a lighter retreat into mellow, melodic tracks such as ‘Five Foot Angel’ and ‘Shine A Light’ where the rhythm section becomes, paradoxically, a soporific yet mesmerizing, sonic backdrop to the sounds of Fender Rhodes pianos, Hammond Organs, and an exploration of the higher melodic end of the bass guitar.
Bone Broke Kings have a real seventies rock style, dripping with the blues from every pore. There are deep shades of classic rock and faint whispers of the progressive, all of which results in a truly righteous sound that will get all true rock fans excited and passionate about music again regardless of their normal preferences.

Bone Broke Kings have been steadily building a growing reputation and an increasing number of devoted fans and now with the release of “Ruby Sunset” they are about to light up everyone’s musical radar.
This is a band who are highly skilled musicians with a real retro blues-rock flair, but who are not afraid to throw in modern rock elements into the mix to really create something special.

All songs are interesting, being the our initial picks “Basement Blues”, a heavenly slice of dark menacing rock, and “Five Foot Angel” which has a strong American vibe with hints of vintage Black Crowes and modern contemporaries Rival Sons
Also the closing and title track is a song with an epic feel to it in every sense of the word. The piano intro fools you into thinking that you are about to hear a tender ballad. But as the guitars kick in, you realise you are on the verge of listening to something very good. At its climax, this track has a real Pink Floyd in their heyday vibe about it.

This band has confidence, skill and a real knack to write and play some very, very impressive bluesy hard rock like they have just stepped off a Greyhound Bus from 1975. The three guitars and sumptuous keyboards of Greg Deller along with the fat sounding and precision drumming with plenty of swing from David Green paint vividly coloured images with their music which makes it really hard not to be drawn in and stay there.
Tom Marrison’s fabulously vocal style really leaves an imprint on you after you have played the album (even once). His voice conjures a portrait of a wandering troubadour full of stories, passion and mischief. He and Jack Marrison play guitar with such skill, intensity and spirit.
These guys along with Jack Copson on bass could not do anything else in this world but be in a band together.

Musically, Bone Broke Kings drift between the darkness of night and the sunrise, heavy and light with effortless skill and panache. This band sounds like they have been doing this for ages. Testament to their musicianship and cohesion as an extremely tight unit.
Every track just hits the right spot to create an absolutely absorbing album which has a timeless quality and the strength of songcraft on display does all the rest. This is a modern take on one of the most treasured forms of rock and roll, and very well done.
This is what heavy blues / classic hard rock is supposed to sound like and for anyone not really familiar with this particular subgenre then you seriously need to listen to this album because it hardly get better than this.


01 – Blow ‘Em Out
02 – Yellow Brick Lane
03 – White Queen
04 – Don’t Wait For Me
05 – Basement Blues
06 – Drag You Down
07 – Emily Rose
08 – Freak Me Baby
09 – Shine A Light
10 – A Love Like Yours
11 – Five Foot Angel
12 – Ruby Sunset

Tom Marrison – Lead Vocals/Guitar
Greg Deller – Keys/Vocals
Jack Marrison – Guitar/Vocals
David Green – Drums
Jack Copson – Bass



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.