RON GOEDERT – Breaking All The Rules (1980) [Bad Reputation remastered 2022] HQ *only at 0dayrox*

RON GOEDERT - Breaking All The Rules (1980) [Bad Reputation remastered 2022] HQ *only at 0dayrox* full

French reissue label Bad Reputation has just released for the first time on CD “Breaking All The Rules“, RON GOEDERT‘s LP from 1980 fully remastered. This rocking, bluesy American album is in fact from the Tampa, Florida band named WHITE WITCH that made two albums for Capricorn Records in the early Seventies.
“Breaking All The Rules”, was released in 1979/1980 under WHITE WITCH’s vocalist Ron Goedert’s name as if it were a solo release, much to the annoyance of the band. The group toured heavily following the album’s release, supporting MOUNTAIN, ZZ TOP, BLACK OAK ARKANSAS, EDGAR WINTER, HOT TUNA, IRON BUTTERFLY and THE JOE PERRY PROJECT.

WHITE WITCH self-titled debut album was released in 1972, and to support the record the band toured extensively opening for established acts like ALICE COOPER and GRAND FUNK RAILROAD. The band’s second album, “A Spiritual Greeting”, was released in 1974, featuring a new rhythm section of former CACTUS Bassist Charlie Souza and ex-BACCHUS Drummer Bill Peterson.
However, due to frustrations with their label’s lack of promotion and its interference in the band’s recording sessions, a further major line up reshuffle in 1975 found singer Ron Goedert as the band’s sole remaining member.

Undeterred, Goedert recruited a new line up which included hotshot guitarist Jerry Runyan, former CHESSMEN duo, bassist Riff West and his brother Jack West on drums. Initially, the new band renamed themselves STAR CHILD, but reverted to the White Witch name in 1976.
Following the recording of a 1977 four song demo tape, the band were signed to a record deal with Polydor Records the following year, and began recording a new studio album.

Intended to be the 3rd White Witch LP, Polydor executives eventually decided they would not use the White Witch name after discovering it was still owned by Capricorn Records. The album, entitled “Breaking All The Rules”, was released in 1979 under RON GOEDERT’s name as if it were a solo release.

At the end of the touring cycle the band was dropped by Polydor, finally splitting up after Riff West accepted the vacant bass position in MOLLY HATCHET. West played on 3 studio albums with Molly Hatchet and the live “Double Trouble” set, remaining with the group until the original band’s final show in 1990.
He then played with FOGHAT for several years, before forming DADDY-OH and was also a member of THE DIXIE JAM BAND.

Guitarist Jerry Runyan continues to make music. Having previously recorded with CALABAN’S FACE, he released a solo album entitled “The Forest Suite” in 2009, before his band MUCKFIRE released their debut album “My Life Belongs” in 2010.
The original White Witch members began planning a reunion in the late 1990’s but this became impossible after lead singer Ron Goedert was diagnosed with cancer. Unfortunately, Goedert passed away from the disease on July 16th 2000.
The band’s original keyboard player Hardin “Buddy” Pendergrass has since also succumbed to cancer, on March 16th 2003. Bassist Riff West has also departed, unexpectedly dying in late 2014 from complications caused by injuries he had sustained in a car accident the previous year.

“Breaking All The Rules” is a in-your-face rock n’roll album with an American sound from bands of this ilk during the ‘stadium rock’ era, read MOUNTAIN, ZZ TOP, MOLLY HATCHET, etc.
Nice to have this lost album available again with a clear remastered sound.
Highly Recommended

You’ve seen it first at 0dayrox


01 – Your Love
02 – Breaking All The Rules
03 – Bring It On
04 – O.C.’s Intro
05 – Woman
06 – Dark In The Old Church
07 – Backbone
08 – I Can Give In
09 – 20/20 Vision
10 – Kids Of America
11 – Squidd

Ron Goedert – vocals, piano, clavinet
Jerry Runyan – guitar, backing vocals
Riff West – bass, organ, backing vocals
Jack West – drums



3 Responses

  1. kosedi says:

    Thank you so much.Bad reputation is making a great job…

  2. Ray says:

    Thanks for this. Have you ever featured the 2 White Witch albums here?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.