DECOY – Without Warning (2022)

DECOY - Without Warning (2022) - full

Without Warning” is the second album by DECOY, the Danish/Swedish collaboration between songwriter and guitarist Torben Enevoldsen (Fate, Acacia Avenue) and singer Peter Sundell (C.O.P, ex-Grand Illusion). This new album features Pete Steincke (Fate) on bass and Dennis Hansen (Acacia Avenue, Section A) on drums, and the band has perfected here their brand of Euro melodic hard rock with a modern sound production.
And we say modern sound production as the eleven tracks are vibrant according to current standards for the genre, but songwriting-wise “Without Warning” is pure late ’80s / early ’90s dominated by Sundell’s awesome soaring vocals much in the Scandinavian classy style, and Enevoldsen impressive multi-layered guitar / keys orchestration.

Seriously, a song like “In And Out Of Love” with its magnificent riffs, top Sundell’s voice, and killer chorus deserves radio airplay all day. This band is incredible, on par with any Frontiers, Escape, ‘major acts’.
And there’s more hooky melodies and choruses, just like in “Fire’s Gone”, while “All Or Nothing” is more rapid, edgy, but catchy as well.

“How Was I To Know” delivers a terrific guitar work for a muscular hard rock number. The rhythm section shines on “Midnight Show”, where the mix send the bass upfront for a pumping rocker.
“Never Easy” and “Now Or Never” are both midtempos closer to AOR, a special showcase for Sundell’s wonderful voice. One of the best current singers for the genre for sure.

Although 15 years have passed since Decoy’s debut CD, well worth the wait because “Without Warning” is an amazing slice of quality European Melodic Hard Rock of the highest order.
HIGHLY Recommended


01 – Broken Pride
02 – In and out of Love
03 – Fire’s Gone
04 – All or Nothing
05 – How Was I to Know
06 – Never Easy
07 – Midnight Show
08 – Now or Never
09 – Reach Out
10 – We Live, We Learn
11 – Without Warning

Peter Sundell (vocals)
Torben Enevoldsen (guitars)
Pete Steincke (bass, vocals)
Dennis Hansen (drums)


Pre order:

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.