SAGA – Network [Remastered reissue 2022] HQ

SAGA - Network [Remastered reissue 2022] HQ - full

Over 40 years have passed since Canadian melodic prog-rock band SAGA released their self-titled debut album. Since then, they have been an exceptional musical phenomenon and toured the globe various times — all the while selling over 10 million albums worldwide.
Their sonic trademarks – synthesizer harmonies, keyboard-guitar riffs, melodic arrangements, and the charismatic vocals of frontman Michael Sadler – have made Saga an influential rock act of the modern era.
Celebrating the band’s four-decade legacy earMUSIC continues with the band’s reissue series exquisitely remastered and these “must own” releases will be welcome additions to the musical libraries of the Saga faithful.
In typical Saga fashion, ”Network” saw the band – Sadler, Jim & Ian Crichton and Jim Gilmour, joined by Christian Simpson on drums for the first time – set out to record a concept album revolving around the theme of television programming. The album features a variety of fantastic call-backs to early Saga albums, as well as numerous standout songs such as the powerful opener ‘On The Air’ and the epic ‘Don’t Make A Sound’.

Saga is on top of their game on ”Network”, the band truly shines. Always melodic, the album is plenty of intricate proggy arrangements, powerful vocals, great guitar work and with lots of cool keyboards. In many ways, this is classic Saga, an album created with an ‘organic’ rock sound approach – analog recording – and a more ‘live’ vibe.
Saga fans will notice the absence of underrated original drummer Steve Negus, who at the time had left the band. His replacement, Christian Simpson, is no slouch. A ‘meaty-sounding’ drummer, Simpson proves to be worthy to play in Negus’ stead.

”Network” is an energetic disc, where heavy guitars, vintage synths and Michael Sadler’s distinct voice run you over like a train. The first three tracks in particular suckerpunch you and leave you for dead. There is a heavier edge to these songs, and no ‘Chapters’ but ‘Channels’ – song-format tracks.
On ”Network” Saga reminds me of their early albums, when they were big, combined very well the melodic rock arrangements with great prog interplays, that made them kinda unique in the early ’80s.

This record is another example that Saga always keep the flag high and they do what they know best – prog music combined very well with polish pop-rock arrangements, this time with an edgy delivery.
Highly Recommended


Channel 1 – On the Air
Channel 2 – Keep It Reel
Channel 3 – I’m Back
Channel 4 – If I Were You
Channel 5 – Outside Looking In
Channel 6 – Don’t Look Now
Channel 7 – Live at Five
Channel 8 – Back Where We Started
Channel 9 – Believe
Channel 10 – Don’t Make a Sound

Vocals – Michael Sadler
Bass – Jim Crichton
Guitar – Ian Crichton
Keyboards, Vocals – Jim Gilmour
Drums – Christian Simpson



You may also like...

2 Responses

  1. Rudio says:

    Thanks very much !

  2. melodified says:

    Don’t get me wrong but I believe that Networks is their last great album. The remaster must be awesome. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.