TRAGIK – Cry For Love (2022)

TRAGIK - Cry For Love (2022) - full

Dutch label Rock Company Records continues its relation with TRAGIK, with release of the new album “Cry For Love”. This is the 11th opus from Phil Vincent, Dirk Phillips, and Damian D’Ercole with Vince O’Regan proving guitar histrionics throughout. “Cry For Love” solidifies TRAGIK as a band which deserve to be reckoned by the melodic hard rock community.
From “Thrill of it All” to “Chasing Heaven” to “And Now We Know” to the closing title track, the sharp riffs, melodic vocals and catchy choruses never wanes. Check out the rocked up version of Norman Greenbaum 1969’s “Spirit in the Sky”, not your typical cover for a melodic-hard band.
One remarkable thing with “Cry For Love” is production & mix: this is easily the best produced TRAGIK album, everything sounds huge and clear.

The new album opens with the pair of ‘Thrill Of It All’ and ‘Chasing Heaven’, both meaty hard rockers that Tragik do so well plenty of guitar crunch coupled with memorable choruses. ‘Alias’ and ‘Anymore’ tip a hat the ’80s sound of the likes of Dokken and Winger – two strong Tragik influences – with lots of guitar action and instant on the ear choruses.
‘One Eyed Jack’ taps into Phil Vincent’s love of the Beatles, featuring one of the album’s stand out guitar solos. Speaking of guitar, there are a couple of guitar instrumentals on the album – ‘Farewell, Mr Beck’ worthy of note.

The title track sees the band stretch themselves into six minutes plus of classy melodic hard rock, elaborated song with really good sections. Tragik crank up the guitars for their version of ‘Spirit In The Sky’, which has a real punchy vibe about it – a far cry from the original’s psychedelic sound!

Tragik, and indeed the music of Phil Vincent, flies under most people’s musical radar which is a shame as this is another quality piece of classic melodic hard rock. Much more consistent musically than many of the project albums that are flooding the market at the moment.
Highly Recommended


01 – Thrill of It All
02 – Chasing Heaven
03 – And Now We Know
04 – Fooled
05 – Just a Moment
06 – One-Eyed Jack
07 – Spirit in the Sky
08 – Feel It Again
09 – Anymore
10 – Alias
11 – Farewell, Mr. Beck
12 – Cry for Love

Phil Vincent – Vocals, Bass, Keyboards, Guitar, Drums
Damian D’Ercole – Bass
Dirk Phillips – Drums and Percussion
Vince O’Regan – Lead Guitars



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.