V.A. – Bound For Hell: On The Sunset Strip [Limited Edition + bonus cassette] (2022) *0dayrox Exclusive*

V.A. - Bound For Hell: On The Sunset Strip [Limited Edition + bonus cassette] (2022) *0dayrox Exclusive* - full

Specialty label Numero Group is shining a spotlight on early ‘80s L.A. glam with ”Bound for Hell: On the Sunset Strip”, a fantastic release (October 28th) that takes a deep dive into Strip mainstays that may not be on the tip of your tongue… but should be.
Artists featured include scene heavyweights Black ‘N Blue, Rough Cutt, Armored Saint and Lizzy Borden, alongside long lost tracks from Reddi Killowatt, Angeles, Max Havoc, SIN, Romeo (to name a few) including future members of Ratt, Kix, Autograph, etc. ”Bound For Hell: On The Sunset Strip” also pays particular attention to the female musicians who challenged the testosterone-laden world of the Strip, with entries and recollections from Jaded Lady, Leather Angel, Lisa Baker, Hellion, and Bitch.

The collection includes the previously unreleased very first song written & recorded by Black ‘N Blue in 1981, an unreleased Rough Cutt early song, etc – in fact, many tracks are previously unreleased or impossible to find 7” singles, and with a good remastered sound quality.
There’s as well terrific extensive liner notes from music critic and co-author of Louder Than Hell: The Definitive Oral History of Metal, Katherine Turman, as well as first-hand testimonials, photos and show flyers – all into a 78-page book (full scans) in a similar Rock Candy Magazine fashion.
But wait, we have more: the limited edition comes with a Bonus Cassette, including 5 additional rare tracks!

We all know about Mötley Crüe, Ratt, Quiet Riot, W.A.S.P. and the rest of the US first-wave glam metal bands that launched off the Sunset Strip in the early ‘80s. But how about the less-celebrated rockers that trolled Hollywood at the turn of the decade?

V.A. - Bound For Hell: On The Sunset Strip [Limited Edition + bonus cassette] 2

Said Adam Luksetich, producer and researcher behind the collection, “The infamous Sunset Strip glam metal scene of the ‘80s is one that’s been covered excessively, and for a good reason. But usually, the analysis never goes too far past bands like Mötley Crüe, Poison, Quiet Riot, etc.
Our goal with Bound For Hell was to narrow in on the equally impressive independent or unsigned bands that thrived in that same scene but in most cases, never benefited from the major label feeding frenzy.
With a bounty of unseen photos, pages and pages of flyers, and detailed liner notes, these bands get more time in the spotlight.”

The full color book is impressive, providing the road map of each band featured in full color book.
Amidst those pages, the story of how the scene unfurled, and eventually imploded, is told via first-hand testimonials, show flyers, and hundreds of photos, which come from the lens of acclaimed rock photographer Kevin Estrada. Estrada also serves as co-producer of the boxset.

V.A. - Bound For Hell: On The Sunset Strip [Limited Edition + bonus cassette] 1

It’s really cool to see finally released the very first song written and recorded by Black ‘N Blue in 1981, explains vocalist Jaime St. James. “This is also the year I went from drummer to singer. I’m looking forward to the release of this awesome box set as Numero Group have done a great job with gathering killer, almost lost music from back in the day with fantastic packaging”.

‘Bound for Hell: On the Sunset Strip’ is an excellent deep dive into the early ‘80s Hollywood glam metal scene with unheard music, unseen memorabilia, awesome photos, and more
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED (contributors get the full package today)

You’ve seen it first at 0dayrox


01 Stormer – Going To the City
02 L.A. Rocks – Cocaine
03 Max Havoc – Bound For Hell
04 Jaded Lady – Rock ‘n’ Roll Ain’t Pretty
05 Steeler – Ready To Explode
06 Lizzy Borden – No Time To Lose
07 Sin – On the Run
08 Black ‘N Blue – Give Em the Old 1, 2, 3
09 Bitch – Damnation Alley
10 Romeo – Feeling To Rock
11 V.V.S.I. – Savage Kind of Girl
12 Hellion – Up From the Depths
13 Angeles – Blade of Steel
14 Knightmare II – Cold Reception
15 Witch – Cinderella (In Black Leather)
16 Reddi Killowatt – Liquid Lady
17 Armored Saint – Lesson Well Learned
18 Leather Angel – We Came To Kill
19 Rough Cutt – Take It or Leave It
20 Lisa Baker – Fool of Lies
21 Odin – Judgement Day

+ Limited Edition 5-track bonus cassette:
01 Black ‘N Blue – Rules Were Made To Be Broken
02 Lisa Baker – Every Girl Has A Fantasy
03 Stormer – Driving
04 Odin – Midnight Flight
05 Leather Angel – Need Your Love



You may also like...

3 Responses

  1. Patrick says:

    Hi 0dayrox, Hope you don’t mind me asking here but have a few requests or want to know if these albums will eventually make their way here thanks as always for everything. 1- Whisper Alley – Up Yer Alley (Lost U.S. Jewels Vol. 15) 2022, 2- Alias – Alias 2022 Remaster Bad Reputation 2022 3- Side Kixx – Talk Of The Town (Re-Master) 2022 Bad Reputation 4- Hurricane – Slave to the Thrill 2022 Remastered Bad Reputation

  2. thomaz says:

    Great Album, with the spirit of Hard Rock made in L.A. Thanks for the great post.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.