RAINBOW – Ritchie Blackmore’s Rainbow [Japan Special Edition UHQCD / MQA] *HQ*

RAINBOW - Ritchie Blackmore's Rainbow [Japan Special Edition UHQCD / MQA] *lossless* - full

After some failed efforts, finally someone has put on CD a really great remaster from one of the most influential albums in Rock history: Universal Japan has released “Ritchie Blackmore’s Rainbow” on a high-fidelity UHQCD / MQA, with a High Resolution cutting copied from the original UK tapes at FX Copyroom, and freshly remastered. It’s the same remastering / transfer used previously for the SHM-CD, but this UHQCD / MQA is even better.
At the time of the original release, this, the first Rainbow album, was widely praised for its fantasy / heroic-like lyrical content and the innovative rock style, which still influence on many musicians today. The young Ronnie James Dio is at his best here.
When the opening riff to “Man on the Silver Mountain” starts, you know its an instant classic. The addicting riff has the same effect like Smoke on the Water and the powerful chorus belted out by Dio makes this one of the best songs of all time.

Another one of the classics on here is “Sixteenth Century Greensleeves” with the pounding, marching guitar riff and the melodic and soothing vocal line of Dio talking about a damsal in distress locked up in a castle back in the 1500’s.
Fast and short rockers like “If You Don’t Like Rock ‘n’ Roll” and “Black Sheep of the Family” are nice and speed up the pace of the album. “Self-Portrait” is a solid mid-tempo rocker with a great vocal number and the chorus is just magnificent.
And then you have “Temple of the King” with its acoustic guitar flow that comes straight from the Eastern European Renaissance style that Blackmore made his own. It’s a wonderful song and there is certainly no other Rainbow song like it.

“Ritchie Blackmore’s Rainbow” is definitely a must have for Dio, Blackmore, and hard rock / classic rock fans. The tandem of both these musicians was unique and created a classic.
This remaster on high-fidelity UHQCD / MQA sounds excellent, with a more pronounced low end than any version appeared before. The backing vocals of Shoshana are clear now, and I am floored by all the clavinet I heard. All with a warm, dynamic range ‘DR13’ that feels like a lovable, unopened vinyl.



01 – Man On The Silver Mountain
02 – Self Portrait
03 – Black Sheep Of The Family
04 – Catch The Rainbow
05 – Snake Charmer
06 – The Temple Of The King
07 – If You Don’t Like Rock N’ Roll
08 – Sixteenth Century Greensleeves
09 – Still I’m Sad

Ronnie James Dio – lead vocals
Ritchie Blackmore – guitar
Micky Lee Soule – piano, mellotron, clavinet, organ
Craig Gruber – bass
Gary Driscoll – drums
Shoshana – backing vocals


Sold Out

You may also like...

2 Responses

  1. kosedi says:

    Thank you so much…

  2. Anonymous says:

    Thanks for Rainbow and Purple

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.